Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English 1170: Linked Stories  Tags: writing class_guide course_guide english_literature american_literature fiction linguistics_language_literature  

Course guide for English 1170, Section 3, Linked Stories (Jackie Reitzes).
http://guides.library.cornell.edu/linked
Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/linked  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles & Databases             Print Page
  
 

Finding Articles in Databases

 

1. Search a Specific Database

Go to the Recommended Databases tab, above, and search within a specific databases for articles on your subject (see further instructions, below).

2. Search a number of databases at the same time using Find it!

The Find it! feature on the Library Gateway allows you to perform a simple search across multiple databases. For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually.

Using Find it!, you can do a simple search in 4 general resources or you can select a list of subject-specific databases to search.

 

Finding databases

The Cornell University Library subscribes to many thousands of databases. Each one of those databases has an entry in the online catalog. You can also search for databases by clicking on the "Databases" tab from the library’s home page. From there, you can either search for the name of a particular database, or browse the subject areas. The category named "Linguistics, Language and Literature" under the heading, "Arts and Humanities" will present you with some of the options most appropriate to the subject matter of this class. You can click on any of the individual titles to get into the databases, or search them all at the same time by entering search terms into the search box at the top of the page.
 
 

Useful Tips

Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles.

If the database does not provide full-text, take down the full article ciation. Then, go back to the library catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.

For more precise searching, search databases individually.

 

Article Databases & Indexes

 

Periodical indexes (databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some databases provide the complete article online (the full-text). When full-text articles are not provided, click on the Get it! Cornell link to determine if the library owns the periodical you need, or search the Library Catalog directly for the book or journal title.

Here's a short video (90 seconds) about identifying scholarly or peer reviewed articles.


General Periodical Indexes

Academic Search Premier. Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Publishing, 1984 - . (Cornell Subscription)

Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Proquest Research Library. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, . 1986 - . (Cornell Subscription)

Available as part of the ProQuest Direct system, Periodical Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.


Specialized Indexes

Humanities International Index

A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1926 - .

An index to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. Search tip: Enter the author's name on one line and a word from the title on the next line. Set language or document-type limits, if desired. Note: MLA also provides links to full-text articles in JSTOR & Project Muse.


Full-text Collections

JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. New York, N.Y. : JSTOR, c1996- .

A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals.

Project MUSE: Baltimore, MD : Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities.


 
 

Try this

Find a literary database. Does it offer full-text access to critical aritcles or encyclopedia entries?
 

Databases with Literature Focus

 

The Oxford English Dictionary The premier historical dictionary of the English language.

Literature Resource Center.
The Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a literature reference database designed for undergraduate students. LRC combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information in articles on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

Literature Online (LION)
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait