Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English 1170: Linked Stories  Tags: writing class_guide course_guide english_literature american_literature fiction linguistics_language_literature  

Course guide for English 1170, Section 3, Linked Stories (Jackie Reitzes).
http://guides.library.cornell.edu/linked
Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/linked  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Get the basics             Print Page
  
 

Useful Tips

Subject encyclopedias offer a very quick way to get yourself started on research topics. They are compiled by experts in the field.

To find subject encyclopedias in the library catalog do a guided keyword search for your topic. Enter one or two keyword terms in the first search row, then in the second, enter encyclop? dictionar? handbook? guide? and select any of these from the pull-down menu as additional keyword search terms.

*Question marks function as wildcard charaters.

 
 

Subject Encyclopedias

In Print

Buchanan-Brown, J., gen. ed. Cassell's Encyclopaedia of World Literature. 3 vols. New York: William Morrow, 1973.
Uris Ref PN41.C34 1973; also Olin Ref

Cambridge History of Literary Criticism. Cambridge [England]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1989- 8 vols.
Olin Ref PN86 C1

Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English. Editor, Olive Classe. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, c 2000. 2 vols.
Olin Ref PN241 E56x 2000+

Harmon, William. A Handbook to Literature. 10th edition. Englewood: Prentice Hall, 2006.
Olin Ref PN41.H355 2006; 8th edition: Uris Ref PN 41.H355x 1999

Dictionary of Literary Biography. Detroit: Gale, 1978-.
Uris Ref PS129 D55+ Select volumes also in Olin Ref PS129 D55+
Also available as a part of the Literature Resource Center
Provides biographical and critical material on major writers, including bibliographies of works by and about the authors.

Walker, Warren S., comp. Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication: Interpretations, 1900-1975, of Short Fiction Since 1800. 3rd ed. Hamden: Shoe String, 1977. Plus Supplements for materials from 1976-1988 and the New Series covering 1989-.
Uris Ref Z5917.S5 W182 1993 and Olin Ref

Provides citations to twentieth century critical analyses (journal articles and essays in books) of short fiction written since 1800. Find articles and information on specific short stories.

 

Article Databases & Indexes

Periodical indexes (databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some databases provide the complete article online (the full-text). When full-text articles are not provided, click on the Get it! Cornell link to determine if the library owns the periodical you need, or search the Library Catalog directly for the book or journal title.

Here's a short video (90 seconds) about identifying scholarly or peer reviewed articles.


Note: The Find it! feature on the Library Gateway allows you to perform a very simple search across multiple databases. Because the various databases are structured differently, search results may vary widely.For more precise searching, it's best to search the databases individually. See the recommended databases below.


General Periodical Indexes

Academic Search Premier. Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Publishing, 1984 - . (Cornell Subscription)

Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Proquest Research Library. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, . 1986 - . (Cornell Subscription)

Available as part of the ProQuest Direct system, Periodical Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.


Specialized Indexes

Humanities International Index

A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1926 - .

An index to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. Search tip: Enter the author's name on one line and a word from the title on the next line. Set language or document-type limits, if desired. Note: MLA also provides links to full-text articles in JSTOR & Project Muse.

 


Full-text Collections

JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. New York, N.Y. : JSTOR, c1996- .

A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals.

Project MUSE: Baltimore, MD : Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities.

 


 

 

 
 

Try This

 

Find a guide, encyclopedia, handbook, or dictionary on the work of  Ernest Hemingway in Cornell's online catalog. Copy the title from the catalog record, then use the comment feature (click on the word, comment, below) and paste the title of that book or electronic resource.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait