Evaluate this Session!
Classic CatalogLibrary CatalogRequesting Materials
Select Resources
Databases
This is the "Home" page of the "ASIAN 2260 Popular Culture of Japan" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ASIAN 2260 Popular Culture of Japan  

An introduction to academic research, using the Cornell University Library and other available resources, with a focus on Japanese popular culture.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/content.php?pid=178134 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Session Objectives

 In today's session we will cover:

Using the Library Catalog to locate resources
Find topic summaries, key concepts, terminology and reference materials

Utilizing a bibliography to locate relevant resources
How to be efficient and research smarter!

Requesting items not available at Cornell 
Use BorrowDirect and Interlibrary Loan

Identifying useful databases and finding/evaluating articles
Find articles, essays, book chapters and monographs

Getting Help
Ask a Librarian!

 

Welcome to the Library!

 

In-class Assignment

You have been assigned to write a paper on "gender roles in Japanese popular culture." 

Varieties of Approach:

1) Where would you begin your investigations of this topic?

2) What keywords would you use for searching the library catalog, the internet, and CUL's indexes and databases?

Assignment:

Part 1: Find a full-length book related to your topic.  (You can use the bibliography of this book to identify additional books and articles of relevance.)

Part 2: Identify a quality database that you can search for scholarly articles.

Part 3: Expand/refine your keywords after searching one database

Part 4: Find one scholarly article on your topic.

Submit the answers to your assignment via the comments link below.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dan Mckee
Contact Info
173 Kroch Library
255-4737
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip