Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Consulting Jobs -- Career Research for MBAs  Tags: business careers consulting  

Tips and strategies for finding consulting firms to target, etc.
Last update: Sep 07th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/consulting  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Industry             Print Page
  
 

Vault Insider Guides

The Johnson School's Career Management Center (CMC) provides MBAs with access to Vault reports. These reports give insider information about what it's really like to work in companies and industries. Learn the "lingo", see starting salary information, and learn what a typical day is like at work.

  1. Access Vault via CJ Online or directly via the library catalog..
  2. Scroll to the very bottom of the left-hand column and click Other Resources.
  3. Click the link Johnson School Online Career Library - Powered by Vault.

From here you can access the Vault Guide to the Top Advertising & PR EmployersVault Guide to Resumes, Cover Letters, and Interviews, as well as employer profiles for marketing firms.

 

Other sources...

Keep up-to-date with a specific industry with RSS or email alerts. Most library databases and industry websites will have some alert system that lets you know when new information is out there which saves you time!

For example: Say you were interested in consulting in the pharmaceutical industry. You could subscribe to an RSS feed from a site like Fierce Biotech and/or recieve email alerts from databases like Nature Journals Online


RSSicon

When you see this symbol, a RSS feed is available

 
 

Finding an Industry Report

There are several library resources for industry reports. Market Insight contains detailed industry reports from Standard & Poor's and is fantastic for larger industries. For smaller industries or for international reports, try Business Source Complete or Business & Company Resource Center. See the examples below:

To get an advertising industry report in Market Insight:

  1. Access Market Insight via the Management Library Web site.
  2. Click the Industry tab from the top menubar.
  3. Select Advertising from the Select a GICS Sub-Industry drop down menu. Click the Go! button.
  4. Click the link for Publishing:08/2008 under the heading S&P Industry Surveys. The report will open in a new window.

To get a report on the advertising industry in China from Business Source Complete:

  1. Access Business Source Complete via the Management Library website.
  2. Click the link for Thesaurus from the top menubar.
  3. Type Advertising in the search box and click the Search button.
  4. Click Industry Profiles under Source Types on the left hand side of the screen.
  5. Click the link for PDF Full Text of Advertising Industry Profile: China to access the Datamonitor report.

To get a report on the Portugal cosmetics industry from Business & Company Resource Center:

  1. Access Business & Company Resource Center via the Management Library website.
  2. Click the icon for an Industry search.
  3. Enter 2844, the relevant SIC code for Toilet Preparation Manufacturing. Click the Search Codes button.
  4. Click the tab for Market Research (Next to the Overviews tab).
  5. Select the Portugal - Make-Up.(Industry overview) link.
 

Industry Information

What are the industry trends affecting your company? How do you analyze a company in a particular industry? What are the top industry associations? Use these resources to answer industry questions.

To find SIC or NAICS codes for an industry, see the Census website.

  • Business and Company Resource Center  
      
    Business & Company Resource Center brings together a wide variety of business information, including company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and new articles.
  • Market Insight  
      
    Market Insight in the electronic source for many Standard & Poor's publications, including S&P Industry Surveys.
  • Mergent Online  
      
    Includes global industry reports.
  • Thomson One Banker  
      
    Provides full-text analyst reports on companies and industries. Works best in IE.
  • CareerBeam  
      
    Read CareerBeam's industry profile, listen to it online or download the 5-7 minute MP3 file and listen to your industry overview in the car. Make sure to check their "Call Preparation Questions" and "Conversation Starters" suggested for your space.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait