Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Reference Sources in Engineering  Tags: engineering techniical_reports standards patents directories dictionaires  

Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/engrref  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Standards & Codes             Print Page
  
 

Engineering Standards and Codes

Introduction

Standards and codes are needed to enhance productivity, facilitate trade, and improve the quality of life. Standards may be developed by innumerable national or international trade associations, groups of industries or government agencies. To identify current standards search the ANSI database, which contains many world-wide standards.

Upon publication the acronym of the publishing organization together with a number and the current year identifies a given title e.g. ASCE 36 - 2001. Acronyms of organizations involved in writing standards, e.g. IEEE, API or UL, are listed at NSSN: Search Engine for National Standards.

Finding Standards & Codes in the Engineering Library

Indexes to national and international standards are found in the Reference section on the first floor. These include the ASTM, NEMA and Pressure Vessel Standards. Some others are located in the Reference Handbooks section, such as ACI Manual and SAE Handbook. Other standards are located in the stacks by call number, e.g. ANSI and IEEE standards. ANSI A-Z numbered standards are shelved first, followed by ANSI/xxxxx (acronym) such as ANSI/ACI in alphabetical order. Only a few standards have been entered individually into the online catalog and are located directly in the stacks.

Codes include building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes such as: IBC, IEBC, IEC; IECC; IFC; IMC; IPC; IRC; UBC; BOCA; SBC; ADA; ANSI; Fair Housing: UFAS; and NFPA. Many are individually cataloged and are available in the print reference collection at the Engineering Library.

A brief overview with locations is given in the following tables:

US Organizations Involved in Writing Standards

Acronym
Title of Resource
Call Number or Website
Location
ACI
ACI Manual of Concrete Practice
TA 681 .A51 M22
Ref. Handbooks Section
ANSI

American National Standards Institute
(Includes some ANS, ASAE, ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, AWWA, EIA, NFPA, SAE, UL standards, filed as ANSE/ASME...)

American National Standards Institute

T59 A51 (print copies)

Stack 3
ASCE American Society for Civil Engineers standards
TA 59 .A51 Stacks

ASTM

Annual Book of ASTM standards

(A Multivolume Set of Full-text Books)

Document Center --catalog only

TA401 .A51 -- full text print only

Latest inRef. Standards Section

Older sets located in the Basement and the Library Annex

ASME
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
ASME standards
TJ290 .A514
Some ASME standards are located at T59 A51
Stacks, except Boiler & Pressure Vessel in Ref Standards
- Index and Directory of Industry Standards T59.2 .U6 I38 Ref. Standards Section
IEEE

IEEE standards

Networked Resource

IEEE Xplore

TK5700 .I592 -- print copies of IEEE Standards, each numbered with individual title

Basement Stacks

ISO International Organization for Standardization International Organization for Standardization -
NFPA National Fire Protection Association
MAD CAD

NISO
National Information Standards Organization
Standards are free in pdf format
-
National Electrical Code,
KF5704 .N38 2002
Ref. Handbooks Section
NIST
National Institute of Standards and Technology Standard Physical Reference Data Page (SI standard units, conversion factors, universal constants)

NIST Physical Reference Data Page

QC94 .S47 and nearby volumes

Ref. Handbooks Section
NSSN

National Resource for Global Standards (National Standards Systems Network)

-
-
Uniform Building Code 1997 Superseded by International Building Code

TH223 .P3 1997

K3538 .A15 I57

Ref. Handbooks Section
MilSpecs

U.S. Department of Defense

Military Standards and Specifications

DODSSP

UC263 .A39 (print index)

Ref. Standards Section
SAE

SAE Handbook
Society of Automotive Engineers

TL 151 .S67 or

TL 1 .S552

SAE Publications and Standards Database (CD)

Ref Handbooks Section
WSSN World Standards Services Network Publicly Accessible Sites of Standards Organizations World Standards Services Network -

Codes, including building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes have abbreviations such as: IBC, IEBC, IEC; IECC; IFC; IMC; IPC; IRC; UBC; BOCA; SBC; ADA; ANSI; Fair Housing: UFAS; and NFPA.

Some Foreign National Standards

BSI
British Standards Institute
DIN
Deutches Institut fur Normung
JIS
Japanese Industrial Standards

 

Webpages of all the national and international organizations may be consulted directly. URLs not listed here can be found at some of the international organization websites above, or with a search engine, such as http://www.google.com. Standards not held at Cornell may be ordered by the library - please inquire at the Service Desk or send an email to engrref@cornell.edu. Otherwise, items may be purchased online from commercial websites and downloaded promptly.

 

Commercial Suppliers of Standards

 

Document Center
Document Engineering Co., Inc.
Global Engineering Documents
IHS (Information Handling Services) Web Server
Linda Hall Library Document Services Department

 

NSSN was started as National Standards Systems Network, but is now "A National Resource for Global Standards", which includes more than 600 national, foreign, regional and international bodies. This online service allows searching for standards across agencies and organizations.

National Information Standards Organization specifications are available free for downloading in pdf format from NISO. NISO has developed standards for Information Retrieval (Z39.50), 12083 (an SGML Tool), Z39.2 (Information Interchange Format), Codes for Languages and Countries, and Z39.18 (Scientific and Technical Reports).

The International Organization for Standardization is a worldwide federation of national standards bodies from some 130 countries. In the US the ISO standards can be ordered through ANSI, ILI and others cited above.


Some other sites:

Yahoo Directory - Standards
University Of Michigan Library standards guide
University of Manitoba Library standards guide

 

Librarian, Engineering Library

Profile ImageJeremy Cusker
Contact Info:
103B Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 254-6261
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait