Research Tips
Use Reference databases to identify and access encyclopedias and other sources to find background information on your research topics.
In the Library Catalog combine keywords like "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" or "handbook" or "guidebook" or "introduction" with other keywords related to your topic.
Look for bibliographies and cross-references at the end of encyclopedia articles.
Use words and phrases that you find in your encyclopedias as keywords in new searches in the Library Catalog, Google, or other subject databases.
To Wiki or Not to Wiki?
You have all used Wikipedia. It can be a good starting place for your research, but dare to explore further....
There are thousands of both general and specialized subject encyclopedias--digital and print.
If you need information on a topic that you are not familiar with, try starting with an encyclopedia article to learn essential facts, figures, and background on your subject.
Digital and Analog Encyclopedias
Use these Reference databases to find and access articles in a variety of encyclopedias and subject dictionaries:
A database of full text reference encylopedias and dictionaries for the Arts, Business, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, and Social Sciences.
This databases contains over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 4,500 reference titles.
A searchable collection containing 100 reference sources including subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources and quotations. Contains over 150,000 entries of facts, words, concepts, and people.
Subject Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology - Steve Jones, editor.
Call Number: Mann Library QA76.575 .E5368x 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0761923829
Freedom of the Press: Rights and Liberties Under the Law - Nancy C. Cornwell.
Call Number: Olin Library PN4738 .C67 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 1851094717
History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia - Margaret A. Blanchard,ed.
Call Number: Olin Library Reference P92.U5 H55x 1998+
ISBN/ISSN: 1579580122
Media and Politics in America: A Reference Handbook - Guido H. Stempel, III.
Call Number: Olin Library P95.82.U6 S74x 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 1576078450
Media Society: Industries, Images, and Audiences - David Croteau, William Hoynes.
Call Number: Uris Library HN90.M3 C76 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0761987738
Newspapers and the Making of Modern America: A History - Aurora Wallace
Call Number: Olin Library PN4867 .W34 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0313323208
Online Dictionaries
Use Google for quick checks on spelling and definitions.
(e.g. define sestina or def sestina)
For more detailed analysis, use the Oxford English Dictionary (OED).
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait