Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 2880: Making the News: The Politics of the Media  Tags: media news information_literacy research_strategies linguistics_language_literature  

A guide to research strategies and resources for a Fall 2008 class on critical analysis of the media.
Last update: Jun 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/makingthenews  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Research Tips

Quick Search for Databases: Use keywords to discover relevant resources.

Browse for Databases by subject. Click on a subject link to find lists of potentially useful resources.

Search for Articles within databases: You can search all, some, or individual databases from the lists provided.

Look for Get it Cornell buttons to retrieve full text articles online.

All databases and journals listed in Find it! can also be found in the Library Catalog.

 
 

Finding the News

Finding the News

 

Recommended database to start your search for articles

 

Research Library (ProQuest). Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .

ProQuest

 

Research Library indexes and abstracts an extensive number of general interest magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided.

 

 

Articles and Databases

Browse or Search for articles, databases or images on your topic in Cornell University Library databases.

Article Search Options:

  • Use the Articles search from the Library Homepage to do simple searches from selected databases.
  • Use the Advanced search to find articles in one or more databases in a particular subject area.


Database Search Options:

 

E-Journal Collections

 

JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields.

Project Muse Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

Project Muse provides access to the full text of journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Search or browse the 26,000+ e-Journals licensed by the Cornell University Library.

 

 

Find web resources that provide scholarly information.

 


Look for Get it! Cornell links to access full text articles from Google Scholar.

Using Google Scholar to locate Cornell University Library resources

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait