The Best Patent Web Sites
- Google Patents
Fastest place to go for all U.S. patents and some U.S. patent applications. Contains descriptions and images in PDF and HTML. - Patent Lens
Contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia. - MicroPatent
Access to all U.S. patents, U.S. patent applications, World patents, European patents, Japanese abstracts, and more. Ability to search full text, download and export citations. - Guide to Using MicroPatent
Cornell Patent Office
- Cornell Center for Technology Enterprise and Commercialization
Called CCTEC, this is Cornell's main office on campus for patent management.
Questions?
Ask us at engranswers@cornell.edu
Free Patent Databases
- Google Patents
Fastest place to go for all US patents and some US patent applications. Contains PDFs of patents. - Canadian Patents Database
Canadian Intellectual Patent Office (CIPO) contains all Canadian patents and images from 1933 to the present. - European Patent Office - esp@cenet
Esp@cenet contains European patents, World patents, and patent applications. Ability to search patents by origin country (i.e. CN for China). Downloadable and printable in PDF. - FreePatentsOnline
Requires registration to access PDFs of patents. Allows for RSS feeds and PDF and XML data downloads. - Japan Patent Office (JPO)
Access to japanese patent abstracts. - Patent Lens
Contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia. Searches full-text, downloadable into RIS format. - Patent Storm
U.S. patents from 1976 foward. Contains U.S. and foreign citing patents. - United States Patent and Trademark Office
Access to all U.S. patents and U.S. patent applications. However, full text viewing requires a TIFF viewer, which requires an extra step. Recommend other databases on this page first. - United States Patent Statitistics
Patent statistical reports based on organization, geographical location, technology, and inventor. - WikiPatents
Database of patents open for public comment, PDF downloading of patents, and free patent translation into multiple languages. - World Intellectual Patent Office
Under PatentScope, contains 1 million world patents and patent applications; will have a WO prefix. When viewing patent, click on "Document" to download in PDF, ZIP, or XML.
Subject Librarian |
Jill PowellOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
607 255-8701
Send Email
Subjects:
Engineering, Computer Science, Earth Sciences
![]() |
Contact Info:
Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
607 255-8701
Send Email
Subjects:
Engineering, Computer Science, Earth Sciences
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait