Searching
Professional Organizations
If you are a member of a professional organization, chances are that it produces a list of fellowships and awards. Usually, you need your member number to login.
One humanities example: the MLA offers a fellowships list through the MLA Commons or Resources section of its web site.
Social sciences example: the APA's list of scholarships, grants, and awards (does not require login)
Professional organizations also usually sponsor fellowships (especially for research) and awards (especially for travel, including travel to their conferences).
Small Selection of Dissertation & Travel Grants
- American Council of Learned Societies Fellowships (includes some opportunities for non-US citizens)
- National Science Foundation (more information under "NSF Improvement grants" heading)
- Social Science Research Council
- Ford Foundation Pre-doctoral Fellowships Program
- National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowships
- Mellon/CLIR dissertation research on original sources
- Compilation from Michigan State University
Grants Associated with Collections
- Find an archival collection: Archive Finder
- Find a government granting agency: Foundation Center's guide to government grants
- National Endowment for the Arts
- National Endowment for the Humanities
Finding
Essential Database of Information: Grant Forward
GrantForward, by Cazoodle in association with the University of Illinois/Urbana-Champagne: grantforward.com
- Foundation Directory Online Helpful for finding general information about fellowships offered by private foundations.
- Also in print: AS 911.A2 F77 (current edition in Olin Library Reference)
- The Cornell University Graduate School Fellowship Database
Other online opportunities
Other Guides:
- Brandeis University: External Fellowships, Awards and Funding Databases
- New York University Libraries: Grants and Proposals. Excellent electronic guide to finding information about grants and the grant application process
- UC Berkeley: Selected list of post-doctoral fellowships in the humanities and in the social sciences
Other Funding Resources:
- American Philosophical Society.http://www.amphilsoc.org/grants
- American Association of University Women. http://www.aauw.org/tag/fellowships-and-grants/ (good source of information on opportunities for studying gender issues)
- American Historical Association.http://www.historians.org/prizes/Grants.htm
- Federal Funding Agencies: http://www.osp.cornell.edu/GovtRelLinks/FedAgencies.html
- Scientific Grants & Funding: http://sciencecareers.sciencemag.org/funding (Grantsnet.org)
- National Institutes of Health.http://grants.nih.gov/grants/oer.htm
- National Endowment for the Humanities.http://www.neh.gov/grants/grants.html
Examples of International Resources
- Research councils UK office http://www.rcuk.ac.uk/pages/home.aspx
- IREX - international research & exchanges board projects, including fellowships: http://www.irex.org/projects
- ResearchResearch - ResearchResearch (London, UK) requires a paid subscription, but it does provide a venue for researchers looking for international funding options.
Grants.gov
Grants.gov
Guide to funding from various U.S. government agencies, including
- NEH
- Institute of Peace
- NASA
- Department of Education
- National Science Foundation
NSF dissertation improvement grants
The National Science Foundation supports graduate students!
The National Science Foundation supports DDIGS (Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grants) in the following areas:
*note: all NSF dissertation proposals must go through Cornell's Office of Sponsored Funding
PassKey
Do you live off-campus? Do you contemplate needing to use databases while traveling? Are you having difficulty getting access to licensed library resources? (i.e. databases, e-books, your library account)?
If so, try using PassKey. PassKey is a "bookmarklet" designed to give Cornell community members access to licensed library resources while they are away from campus.