ArticlesBackground SourcesBooksDatabasesDissertations
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Focus on Social Sciences Resources 

Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/ssfocus  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 

Finding databases

The Cornell University Library subscribes to  thousands of databases. Each one of those databases has an entry in the online catalog. You can also search for databases by clicking on the "Database Names" tab from the library’s home page. From there, you can either search for the name of a particular database, or browse the subject areas. The heading named "Social Sciences" will present you with some of the options most appropriate to subject matter related to the social sciences . You can click on any of the individual titles to get into the databases, or search them all at the same time by entering search terms into the search box at the top of the page.

 
 

Databases

EconLit

Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and articles in books published since 1969. Subjects covered in EconLit include economic theory and history, fiscal theory, econometrics, agricultural economics, public finance, demography, monetary theory, international economics and others.

 

FRANCIS

A multilingual, multidisciplinary database indexing books and journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and economics. Updated monthly, FRANCIS covers 1984 to the present, with more than 872,000 records.

 

JSTOR

JSTOR is a searchable database containing the full text back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields. Last 5 years of journals are not available through JSTOR.

 

NBER working papers

NBER researchers initially report their findings in these scientific papers aimed at other professional economists. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals.

 

PAIS International

Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese.

 

Periodicals Index Online

Index to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.



Population Index on the Web

A searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature cited in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.

 

ProQuest Research Library

Covers an extensive number of periodicals, including both general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Also included are citations and abstracts to selected television and radio programs. Full text of many articles is provided.

 

Sage Race Relations Abstracts

The abstracts provide current information on race relations including discrimination, education, employment, health, politics, law and legislation. Each quarterly issue offers summaries of journal articles, books and conference papers from around the world.

 

SocINDEX

Comprehensive article database with abstracts for more than 590 "core" Sociology journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,040 "selective" coverage journals. Also includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

 

Sociological abstracts

This index contains citations from 1,500 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences.

 

Web of science: Social sciences citation index

ISI citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of journal articles and book reviews. You can find where your professor's works have been cited and whose work your professor has cited.

 

 

 

Contact me:

Profile ImageDeb Schmidle
VIVO



Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
255-3680
Send Email

Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait