ArticlesBackground SourcesBooksDatabasesDissertations
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Focus on Social Sciences Resources 

Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/ssfocus  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citation Management             Print Page
  
 

Upcoming Citation Management Workshops

Manage Citations with EndNote

Participants will learn how to build a database of bibliographic references from a variety of resources, including library catalogs and periodical indexes. EndNote interfaces with several standard word processing programs and provides direct connections to resources, making it easy to import references and incorporate them in your writing. Class outline.

Sessions will meet in Uris Library CL3 Lab.

 


Manage Citations with RefWorks

Free to Cornell students and faculty, RefWorks is a web-based tool that helps make library research and paper writing easier. It retrieves and organizes citations from online databases then creates correctly formatted citations or footnotes and bibliographies. Class outline.

Sessions will meet in Uris Library CL3 Lab.

Choose a session from the dates listed below:

 

 
 

Useful Tips

Give credit where credit is due. By properly citing the sources you use in your research projects you are both identifying the resources that you used to complete your work and you are formally acknowledging the authors or creators of those resources. 

Please read the Cornell University Code of Academic Integrity.

 

Style Guides

MLA Citation Style

MLA Citation Style (Cornell University Library guide in pdf form)
Answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about MLA citation style.

MLA Style (MLA's web site)
Provides some FAQ's; however, this site does not provide the full style manual online.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (6th ed.)
Olin and Uris Libraries Z253 .M68 2003 (located at the Reference Desks) APA Citation Style

APA Citation Style

APA Citation Style (Cornell University Library guide in pdf form)
Answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about APA citation style.

APA Reference Examples for Electronic Source Materials (Excerpted from the 5th edition of the Publication Manual)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (5th ed.)
Africana, Hotel, Management, Olin, and Uris Libraries BF 76.7 .P83x 2001x
(located at the Reference Desks)

 

Manage Information

Managing Information using Bibliographic/Citation Software

RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to easily collect, manage, and organize bibliographic references by interfacing with databases. RefWorks also interfaces directly with Word, making it easy to import references and incorporate them into your writing, properly formatted according to the style of your choice. For more information and to sign up for an account: http://www.refworks.cornell.edu

EndNote is citation management software produced by ISI. A free 30 day trial is available through the EndNote website. The software can be purchased at the Campus Store.

For questions or problems with RefWorks or EndNote, contact CiteManage-L@cornell.edu

 

Contact me

Profile ImageDeb Schmidle
VIVO



Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
255-3680
Send Email

Subjects:
Social Sciences, Economics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait