Annual Surveys of ResearchBibliographiesBiographical SourcesChronologiesExplication SourcesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 4920.102: Becoming Virginia Woolf (Spring 2009)  Tags: english_literature virginia_woolf literature  

A guide to resources in literature for students in Prof. Hite's English 4920 class.
Last update: Mar 11th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english4920mh  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home               Print Page
  
 

Textual Research

The texts of Virginia Woolf's writings are available for searching on CD-ROM. One copy is held in the Electronic Text Center (behind the Reference Desk). There is also a copy in the Olin Media Center (PR 6045 O72 A11 1997).

The CD contains:

  • Woolf's published novels, collections of essays, biographies, autobiographies, short stories, in both their English and American editions
  • her published letters and diaries (inc. The Early Journals in holograph)
  • holographs of many published and unpublished essays and sketches; fragments, drafts of novels and short stories
  • all 26 volumes of Woolf's reading notebooks
  • over 100 typescripts of various novels and essays
  • audio recording of Woolf reading from her BBC broadcast 'Craftsmanship'
  • the complete text of Mark Hussey's A-Z of Virginia Woolf

Read the Modern Fiction Studies review of the CD.

 
 

Some useful resources for this class


Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. 1920- (ABELL)
ABELL contains over 814,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.

 

Historical Abstracts.
This historical periodical database includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. andCanada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Covers over 2000 journals, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history.

 

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.


MLA Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Assn., 1926 -
A bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics worldwide, gathered from nearly 7,000 sources worldwide, including journal articles, books, and articles in books. Does not index book reviews.

Reference Sources

Oxford English Dictionary.
The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and slang. This edition contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material from the revision programme, which represents the latest progress towards the Third Edition. Second edition available in print at Olin and Uris Reference PE1625 M98 1989

 

Subject Librarian

Fred Muratori
Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email

Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film

 

Online Exhibitions

 

Where to start if you...

...are looking for Scholarly Articles? Try the MLA Bibliography

...need a pre-1800 English text? Search ECCO

...aren't sure what "narratology" means? Check the Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism

...can't figure out the origin of the word "bodkin?" Look it up in the Oxford English Dictionary

...want basic biographical information on Shelley? Use the Literature Resource Center

...would like to hear "The World Is Too Much With Us" read aloud? Listen to audio poems in Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait