Do you live off-campus? Are you studying abroad, doing an internship or co-op or attending a conference? Are you having difficulty getting access to licensed library resouces? (I.e. databases, e-books, your library account)?
If so, try using PassKey. PassKey is a specially designed "bookmarklet" designed to give Cornell community members access to licensed library resources while they are away from campus.
PassKey does not require any installation: Just click on the link or button below, put in your NetID and password and you should be granted immediate access.
More info | Passkey Help | Tell us what you think
- Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
Since 1934, Perry’s Chemical Engineer’s Handbook has delivered unrivaled, state-of-the-art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering —from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. Featuring 2,700 pages and 1900 illustrations, the eighth edition is a comprehensive source for the newest developments, advances, achievements, and methods in the field.
These are databases that index peer-reviewed journals, technical reports and conference proceedings in science and technology. Each one has a different focus.
- Databases A-Z
This is a complete listing of databases in science and engineering available at Cornell.
- Beilstein CrossFire plusReactions
- chemical structures, reactions, properties
- Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec)
Compendex and Inspec can both be searched simultaneously through a single interface called Engineering Village 2. The 2 databases cover technology, engineering and applied science in journals, conference papers and technical reports.
Provides bibliographic information for serials indexed with the MeSH® vocabulary and cited in MEDLINE®. Includes serials formerly found in the separate NLM databases HealthSTAR and AIDSLINE®.
PubMed is a free search engine for MEDLINE, a database compiled by the National Library of Medicine. It covers research in medicine, health sciences, life sciences and related fields.
- SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder is a graphical interface for searching the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. You will need to register first and only a limited number of simultaneous users of the system can be on at any one time.
- Web of Science
Covers over 10,000 journals in 7 areas (including, despite the name, humanities and social sciences). Also covers conference proceedings.
- CRC Netbase (a.k.a. ENGNetBase)
ENGNetBASE gives access at the chapter level to over a thousand e-books in engineering and other topics.
Knovel is an e-book database of several thousand engineering handbooks. The content can be globally searched, with Knovel directing you to relevant pages or tables in multiple handbooks.
- Safari Books Online
This is an e-book library on computers & programming. It has several hundred titles from O'Reilly Publishing, producers of the "Missing Manual" series and many others.
Springer publishes many books on computer science, including many aimed at specialists in the latest research (i.e. artificial intelligence, specialized systems, pervasive computing, etc.). SpringerLink indexes down to the chapter level, so you don't have to read through an entire e-book to find what you're looking for.
- Business Source Premier
BSP covers business news and also offers good coverage of trade and industry journals. It offers scanned images of the pages, as well as their text.
Lexis/Nexis began as a legal research database but now covers news coverage and a variety of other types of media as well.
103B Carpenter Hall
Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 254-6261Send Email