Skip to main content

HIST 1200-107: Wealth and Poverty in Modern India (Fall 2017): Encyclopedias

A guide to library research

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Cambridge Histories

Encyclopedias

Selected titles

Country profile : India (2001)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Hinduism Short articles with extensive annotated bibliographies.

The Oxford handbook of the Indian economy (2012)

The new Oxford companion to economics in India (2012)

The Cambridge companion to modern Indian culture (2012) Kroch Library Asia DS423 .C27 2012

Encyclopaedia of India. ed. Pran Nath Chopra. Delhi : Rima Pub. House, 1992-1994. (30 vols) (Kroch Library Asia Reference +DS405 .E56 1992) The standard encyclopedia of India with articles on people, places, religions. Short bibliographies end most articles. Includes a gazetteer of India.

Encyclopaedia of South East and Far East Asia. edited by P.C. Sinha. Published: New Delhi, India : Anmol Publications , c2006. Kroch Library Asia Reference DS520.7 .E53 2006

South Asian folklore : an encyclopedia : Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka. Margaret A. Mills, Peter J. Claus and Sarah Diamond, editors. Published: New York : Routledge, 2003.(Kroch Library Asia Reference oversize GR302 .S68x 2003+)

The Cambridge encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives. editor, Francis Robinson. Published: Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1989. (Kroch Library Asia Reference Call Number: + DS334.9 .C18 1989)


A Dictionary of Modern Indian History, 1707-1947. ed. Parshotam Mehra. Delhi ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1985. (Kroch Library Asia DS433 .M49 1985) About 400 alphabetically arranged entries cover places, events, leaders, parties, etc. Some articles are lengthy and include a brief bibliography. Appendix includes chronology, glossary of Indian terms, list of governors and viceroys.

Asian Historical Dictionaries. (series by country). (Kroch Library Asia Reference and stacks)These one volume dictionaries cover Afghanistan and other South Asian countries. Often with a focus on modern history. Use a keyword search in the online catalog (asian historical dictionary + country of interest) to find specific titles.


Encyclopedia of Islam. (new edition) eds. C. E. Bosworth, et al., Leiden: Brill, 1954- . (on CD-Rom in Olin's Electronic Text Center; in print at Olin Reference DS 37 E56+ 1954) Contains signed articles by scholars in the field, with bibliographies, on subjects in biography, history, geography, and the sciences. Includes entries on foreign countries in which Islam is important. This edition, begun in 1954, is still in progress. (10 vols to date; up to the letter U). Very challenging to use!

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'¯an. Jane Dammen McAuliffe, general editor Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2001-(Also in print at Olin Library Reference BP133 .E53 2001 +)

Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures. general editor, Suad Joseph. Published: Leiden : Brill, c2006-  Latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. Covers the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies. v. 1. Methodologies, paradigms and sources for studying women and Islamic cultures -- v. 2. Family, law, and politics -- v. 3. Family, body, sexuality, and health -- v. 4. Economics, education, mobility, and space.

Encyclopaedia of women in South Asia. editors, Sangh Mittra, Bachchan Kumar. Published: Delhi, India : Kalpaz Pub., 2004.  Eight volumes.

Encyclopaedia of Indian women through the ages / Simmi Jain. Published: Delhi : Kalpaz Publications, 2003. (Kroch Library Asia Call Number: HQ1742 .J346 2003)

Biography

Biography

Women in world history : a biographical encyclopedia. Anne Commire, editor ; Deborah Klezmer, associate editor. Published: Waterford, CT : Yorkin Publications, c1999-2002. 17 volumes. Olin Library Reference + HQ1115 .W6x 1999)

Dictionary of National Biography (online). 21 vols. plus suppl. London: Oxford UP, 2004. (also in print at Olin Reference DA28.D4 O95 2004) The standard work for English biography.  

General

Flicker photo by teachernz

Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:

 

Gale virtual reference library 

Sage Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online