Skip to main content

SPAN 2230: Perspectives on Spain: Background
Sources

This is a research guide for Prof. Julia Chang's Fall 2017 class, taught in English.

Find background/context and refine your topic

Reference sources are great for background or context, to refine your thesis or topic, to identify good key words, to check facts, and more. Use their bibliographies or sources to identify other good sources for your topic.

See also this Cornell Library guide:  Online Encyclopedias: Using Subject Encyclopedias to Understand Your Topic.

Ask a librarian to help you identify great reference sources for your topic. (Chat 24/7, email, telephone...)

Literature and culture

Cambridge History of Spanish Literature (online)  Print edition: Olin Library PQ 6033 .C36 2004.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture (online; 1999)

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (online)

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online. Includes major Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionaries.

Oxford Reference (online) Almost 400 distinct subject and literature encyclopedias and language dictionaries. 

Grove Art (online)

Grove Music (online)

Other background sources

Look to other sources for background on identity and identity formation, gender, religion, migration, cultural theory. 

Country-specific information

European Governments online (lean facts provided by the European Union)

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition online includes supplemental current materials and is an excellent starting point for country (or topic) information.

Elections in Europe:  A Data Handbook (2010)Not just data -- for each country, also an essay with political history, and an extensive bibliography. Olin Library Reference JN45.E6 201 Also available as an ebook.Follow this link. Access the book by clicking through the table of contents on the left side of the window.  (Pay no attention to the password login on the right side -- this ebook will work from all Cornell IP addresses.) It's possible to print 20-page sections.

Country Reports, Economist Intelligence Unit (The Economist).  "In-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends with an 18 month outlook." Quarterly and annual statistics, each with at least 150 data points, covering more than 195 countries worldwide, facilitating national comparisons.

See also: Cornell Library European Statistics and Data: Reference Guide for links to national statistical agencies.

Key encyclopedias

Develop your research topic:

   Use specialized encyclopedias to identify keywords, clarify concepts, and gain authoritative background.

Encyclopedia of Government and Politics Print only: Olin Library Reference JA61.C66x 2004+, 2 vol.

Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought (online, Sage, 2013)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (online) Searchable full text of many subject encyclopedias and reference books including the important International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences and the Encyclopedia of European Social and Cultural History.

International Encyclopedia of Political Science (online, Sage 2011)

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioural Sciences 4,000 articles; "maps the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale."

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World (online, 2004)

Sage Handbook of Comparative Politics (online, Sage)

Wrap your head around your topic

Artist:  Alicia Martin.  No title, no date.  Source: http://theodysseyonline.com/stanford/10-modern-artists/183537

Web. March 21, 2016

Web Accessibility Assistance