Skip to main content

MEDVL 1101 The Anglo-Saxon World—Monsters/Warriors/Legends (Fall 2017): 3. Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

The Steps

Find a database by browsing the list on the right
or on the library home page, by clicking on
Database Names and subjects

Click on the link to get into the database

Search the database for articles

How to Get an Article

Not all articles are available full text.

 
If an article isn't available full text through a database..

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

 

 

Recommended

MLA International Bibliography Articles and books on literature and authors, as well as historical writing as literature.

Feminae: Medieval women and gender index

International Medieval Bibliography Online Articles and books about the Middle Ages and late Antiquity. Use Get it! Cornell to locate the full text of articles.

Academic Search Premier Articles. Every discipline covered. Lots of pdfs.

ProQuest Research Library Articles. Every discipline covered. Lots of pdfs.

JSTOR Does not include recent articles. Best used when you're stuck and having problems finding articles.

Project MUSE Usually includes only the most recent articles. Best used when you're stuck and having problems finding articles.

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)