Skip to main content

COML 1109.102: Experimental Arabic Literature (Fall 2017): Find Background
Information

A library research guide for students in Ahmad Alswaid's Comparative Literature 1109 class.

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection Subject encyclopedias are great for:
  1. choosing a topic
  2. educating yourself quickly
  3. perspective on a topic
  4. variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  5. bibliography

Reference Sources in Literary Theory

Some useful literary theory and philosophy sources in the Reference Collection:

Reference Sources in Arabic Literature

Multi-disciplinary Refererence sources

Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
Reference Universe
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 6,000 reference titles.
Sage Reference Online
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.