Skip to main content

Circulation Statistics for Magazines and Newspapers: Historical
 

Resources for locating circulation statistics for periodicals: newspapers, journals, and magazines both current and historical.

Locate Historical Circulation Statistics

Note that these sources are arranged geographically by state and municipality. They include information for both newspapers and periodicals.

Rowell’s American Newspaper Directory. – (Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts (Request in advance) Z 6951 .R88+)

                                Print Holdings:   1869, 1877

1879: Jan. <Preservation photocopy>

24th-25th, 27th,29th year (1892-1893,1895,1897)

30th year (1898: Mar.)

32nd, 39th-40th year (1900, 1907-1908)

 

N. W. Ayer & Son’s American Newspaper Annual. (Library Annex Z 6951 .A97)

                                Print Holdings: 1880-1881,1883-1884,1891

 

N. W. Ayer & Son’s American Newspaper Annual and Directory. (Library Annex Z 6951 .A97)

                                Print Holdings: 1910, 1912, 1914-1921,1924-1926,1929

 

N. W. Ayer & Son’s Directory of Newspapers and Periodicals. (Library Annex Z 6951 .A97)

                                Print Holdings: 1930-1969

 

Ayer Directory, Newspapers, Magazines and Trade Publications. (Library Annex Z 6951 .A97)

                                Print Holdings: 1970-1971

 

Ayer Directory of Publications. (Library Annex Z 6951 .A97)

                                Print Holdings: 1972-1973, 1975-1979, 1981-1982

 

IMS ... Ayer Directory of Publications. (Library Annex Z 6951 .A97)

                                Print Holdings: 1983-1985

 

IMS Directory of Publications. (Library Annex Z 6951 .A97)

                                Print Holdings: 1986

 

Gale Directory of Publications. (Library Annex Z 6951 .A97)

                                Print Holdings: 1987-1989

 

For more recent statistics, see the titles listed under the Current tab.