Skip to main content

HIST 4548:The Middle East in Africa, Africa in the Middle East (Fall 2017): Encyclopedias

A guide to library research

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories Online

Excellent resource. Full text. Chapters as pdfs. Extremely high quality essays with rich footnotes and bibliography.

Dictionary

Encyclopedias

 

Oxford bibliographies. Islamic studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. 

Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews
Includes such titles as: The Oxford handbook of Islam and politics [2013] The Oxford handbook of the history of nationalism 2013  The Oxford handbook of Iranian history c2012

 

 

 

Encyclopaedia Islamica
Challenging to use! Projected to be a 16-volume publication focused on Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. (New content will be added every year in alphabetical order. IN PROGRESS. Expected completion in 2023.
 
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online
Challenging to use! Aims to be a comprehensive reference work in English on all aspects of Islam written by leading scholars. Includes new entries from the 3rd edition (Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE).
 

Encyclopedia Iranica  
Multi-disciplinary reference work. All aspects of the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies. IN PROGRESS.

 

 

Cover Art
 
   Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire
     One volume. Signed articles by experts in the field. (Olin Library Reference DR486.E53 2009 +)
 

 

The Routledge handbook of modern Turkey. edited by Metin Heper and Sabri Sayarı. New York : Routledge, 2012. (Olin Library Oversize DR417 .R58 2012 +)

Bibliographies

Selected English Bibliographies of Primary & Secondary Sources

 

Approaching Ottoman history: an introduction to the sources Suraiya Faroqhi. New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999

Bibliography of Ottoman history Stanford J. Shaw. [Cambridge? Mass. : s.n., 1964?] (Uris Library A.D. White Z2846 .S53+)

See excellent bibliographies in relevant chapters of Cambridge Histories Online.

Historical dictionary of Turkey. Metin Heper. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1994. (Olin Library DR436 .H47x 1994

Palestine and Egypt under the Ottomans: paintings, books, photographs, maps and manuscripts. Hisham Khatib. Published: London ; New York : Tauris Parke, 2003.

The Ottoman city in comparative perspective, Istanbul, 1453-1923 : a selected bibliography of urban history, compiled from Western sources  Engin Yenal. Monticello, Ill. : Vance Bibliographies, 1978. (Library Annex Z5941 .V22 no.14)

Bibliography on manuscript libraries in Turkey and the publications on the manuscripts located in these libraries. edited by Ekmeleddin İhsanoğlu ; prepared by Nimet Bayraktar and Mihin Lugal. Istanbul : Research Centre for Islamic History, Art, and Culture (IRCICA), 1995. (Uris Library A.D. White Z845.T9 B5 1995z)

The Middle East in microform: a union list of Middle Eastern microforms in North American libraries. compiled by Fawzi W. Khoury and Michele S. Bates. Seattle, Wash. : University of Washington Libraries, 1991. (Library Annex + Z3015 .K48x 1991)

General

Flicker photo by teachernz

Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:

 

Gale virtual reference library 

Sage Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online