Skip to main content

FREN 4285: Old French (Fall 2017): Articles

This is a guide for Ti Alkire's Old French class (with bonus Romance languages history sources)

How to find articles

Three Steps

1. Find a database by browsing the list here or under Databases' subject categories.


2. Click on the link to get into the database.

3. Search the database for articles.

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text online!
If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

Essentials (in order)

MLA subject:  French language (old) -> 1,444 results

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In Frefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (Mac users).

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)

French basics

Cairn

Francis

Persee

Revues