Skip to main content

FREN 4285: Old French (Fall 2017): Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

This is a guide for Ti Alkire's Old French class (with bonus Romance languages history sources)

Medielval French

Cambridge Companion to Medieval French Literature (online).

A New History of Medieval French Literature, by Jacqueline Cerquiglini , translated by Sara Preisig.  Johns Hopkins, 2011) Online, and Olin PQ156 .C47 2011.

Medieval folklore : a guide to myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs.(Olin and Uris Reference GR35 .M43 2002)

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. (Olin Reference D 114 D55+)

Crusade propaganda and ideology: model sermons for the preaching of the cross. [compiled by] Christoph T. Maier. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2000.

The Catholic Encyclopedia and the New Catholic Encyclopedia (Olin Reference BX841 .N532 2003+)

Cambridge Histories

Language dictionaries: Old French (and more)

*** Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française, et de tous ses dialectes du IXe au XVe siècle...Frédéric Godefroy.  (Online and Olin Library Reference  PC2889 .G58+)

Dictionnaire du moyen français: la Renaissance (Olin Library Reference  PC2625 .G82)

Le grand atelier historique de la langue française: les grands dictionnaires de référence du Moyen âge au XIXe siècle. (CD Rom) Olin Library Disk PC2620 .G73x 2002)

Le grand dictionnaire historique, ou, le mélange curieux de l'histoire sacrée et profane, etc. (17th century; in ARTFL)

Dictionnaire historique de la langue française: contenant les mots français en usage et quelques autres délaissés ... (Olin Library Oversize PC3156 .L4+)

Tobler-Lommatzsch: altfranzösisches Wörterbuch. (CD ROM at Olin Library Reference Disk PC2893 .T63x 2002; print at Olin Library Room 404 + PC2893 .T62)

Lexique roman; ou, Dictionnaire de la langue des troubadours, comparée avec les autres langues de l’Europe latine, précédé de nouvelles recherches historiques et philologiques... (Olin Library Room 404 PC3289 .R27)

Provenzalisches Supplement-wörterbuch (Olin Library Room 404 PC2580 .W3 1948)

Dictionnaire de la langue du Moyen Age (Olin Library Reference  PC2889 .E56 2003)

Dictionnaire roman, walon, celtique et tudesque, pour servir à l'intelligence des anciennes loix & contrats des chartes, rescripts, titres, actes, diplomes & autres monuments, tant ecclésiastiques que civils & historiques, écrits en langue romance ou langue françoise ancienne.  (also in print at Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts  PC2889 .F8)

Dictionaries: Basic, online

Reference sources: comprehensive, online

Gale virtual reference library Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Reference universe. Search the back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias in a wide variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions.

Contemporary French Dictionaries

*** Le grand Robert de la langue française. [Paris] : Le Robert, [200-?] Version électronique, 2e éd.

Etymological Dictionaries

Dictionnaire étymologique, Jean Dubois, Henri Mitterand, Albert Dauzat. Paris : Larousse, c2001. Olin Reference PC2580 D68x 2001
Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue française par Albert Dauzat. Paris : Larousse, [1949], c1938. 10. éd. Olin stacks PC2580 D24 1949 (2 copies)