Skip to main content

COML1109 Writing Across Cultures: Literary Insomniacs. (Fall 2017): Find News
Articles

A research guide fo Ruoji Tang's First-Year Writing Seminar.

News Aggregators: Current & Recent News Article Collections

News Aggregators: Collections of News Resources:

Access World News.
Roughly 1980 to date.
(Online only)
Searchable full-text database of several thousand news titles. No graphics.

LexisNexis Academic.
Roughly 1980 to date.
(Online only)
Searchable full-text database. Overlaps with Access World News but with some unique titles. No graphics.

Other Sources of Current News

Factiva:
The Newsstand section on the default home page of Factiva shows the last two weeks of the following news sources—every article, plain text (no graphics)—New York Times, Wall Street Journal (U.S. edition, Europe edition, and Asia edition), Investor’s Business Daily, and the BBC. Cornell Library subscription database.
The content of all publications covered in Factiva is also searchable. Click on the Search button in the top bar. Plain text only; no graphics.

Financial Times/FT.com:
FT.com is the Financial Times’ name for their online version. It requires a free signup for the pay-walled version. Use the link from this catalog record: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/8625023. All Cornell has access to this online news source via our Library subscription. The default version is the “International Edition.” The UK Edition is also available online.

New York Times/nytimes.com:
The Student Assembly has purchased access for all Cornell undergraduates only. All undergraduate students have received an e-mail with login instructions. Instructions are also here as a PDF: New York Times -- digital access for undergraduates. Other users are limited to 10 articles per month without a personal digital subscription.

Washington Post/washingtonpost.com/:
Anyone with a .edu, .gov, or .mil e-mail address can get free, unlimited access to all washingtonpost.com content, including the blogs. Instructions for signing up using a .edu email address can be found here: http://help.washingtonpost.com/link/portal/15067/15080/Article/628/How-do-I-activate-my-gov-mil-edu-free-subscription.

World Politics Review:
Continuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published entirely online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Nonpartisan, nonideological articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.

Web Accessibility Assistance