Skip to main content

HIST 1200.102: Climate Change and Human History (Fall 2017): Primary Sources

A guide to library research

Artemis from Gale

Artemis: Primary Sources (from Gale) is a convenient portal to a number of collections (databases). Before you begin searching, take a look at the 20 databases to see if they will work for your topic.

 

Historical Newspapers

Primary Source Newspaper Articles

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876.

ProQuest historical newspapers. The New York Times (1851-2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), the Washington Post (1877-1990), every page from every issue in PDF files.

Lexis Nexis Academic US news as of 1980.

Accessible archives: primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers In development. Newspaper pages from 1880-1910

Poole's Plus: Indices to Nineteenth-Century Newspapers, Periodicals, Books and Government Documents 

Official Documents

Official Primary Sources

U.S. Congressional serial set (Online) 1817-1980 Full text of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

ProQuest Congressional  Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990’s to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present; full text of Congressional hearings, 1824-2003; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.

Historical Magazines & Periodicals

Primary Source Magazine (Periodical) Articles

Readers' guide retrospective. A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. Does not include full text. Use "Get it Cornell" links to find the periodical.

19th century masterfile  19th century periodical literature.

American Periodical Series/APS online.  1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.