Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)
In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites
The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey. You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it!
Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title). Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need
If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Cat to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.
If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!
EBSCOhost Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.
America History and Life Articles, books, dissertations on United States and Canadian history from pre-history to the 21st century.
Historical Abstracts Articles, books, dissertations on thE history of the world since 1450.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Excludes 3-5 years most recent articles. ALL JSTOR journals included in America History and Life/Historical Abstracts.
Project Muse Companion to JSTOR with 3-5 most recent years.
Web of Science Includes Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences Citation Index. A multidisciplinary index to over 1200 leading international arts and humanities journals. It includes journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, poems, short stories, plays, musical scores, excerpts from books, and bibliographies. Allows tracking of cited references.
Summon / Search for Articles
Summon (Articles & Full Text) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items).
Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject-specific databases (link to the right of Articles & Full Text) for comprehensive or focused searching.
Articles on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Citations to journal articles, book chapters, reports and reprints. Coverage includes: agricultural administration, laws and regulations, economics, education, training and extension, engineering and products; animal science; aquatic sciences; chemistry; energy as related to agriculture; entomology; feed science; food science and food products; forestry; general agriculture; geography, meteriology, climatology and history; home economics and human ecology; human nutrition; institutional food service; life sciences; natural resources management and environmental pollution; pesticides; plant diseases; plant science and production; rural sociology; soil science; veterinary medicine.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Provides citations and some brief abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology and medicine and allied historical fields from prehistory to the present.
ProQuest Research Library
General interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.
Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.