Skip to main content

MEDVL 1101 Women in Anglo-Saxon Literature (Spring 2018): Encyclopedias

A guide to library research

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Cambridge Histories

Dictionary

Recommended

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo Saxon England

Ancient History Encyclopedia Covers Antiquity and the Medieval world.

The Anglo-Saxon literature handbook

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2006. 5 volumes.  Table of contents

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries.

The encyclopedia of Medieval literature in Britain. (2017).  General editors, Siân Echard and Robert Rouse ; associate editors, Jacqueline A. Fay, Helen Fulton, and Geoff Rector. Four volumes. Olin Library Reference  PR260 .E53 2017  2017.

Medieval Encyclopedias

Oxford Dictionary of the Saints

Encyclopedia of early Christianity (Olin Library Reference + BR162.2 .E56 1997)

Late antiquity : a guide to the postclassical world (Olin Library Reference DE5 .L29x 1999)

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. (Olin Reference D 114 D55+; also Uris Reference)

The Catholic Encyclopedia and New Catholic Encyclopedia (Olin Reference BX841 .N532 2003+)

Trade, travel and exploration in the Middle Ages : an encyclopedia   (in print Olin Library Reference Oversize HF1001 .T7x 2000 +)

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DA 129 .M43x 1998)

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DC 33.2 .M48 1995)

Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DD126 .M43x 200+)

Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DP99 .M33x 2003+).

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia, online in two volumes:  Volume 1 A- K, Volume 2 L-Z (Olin Library Reference DG443 .M43x 2004)

Medieval Islamic civilization: an encyclopedia, online in two volumes: Volume 1 A-K Volume 2 L-Z (Olin Library Reference DS36.85 .M434 2006 +)

Medieval Jewish civilization: an encyclopedia. (print at Olin Reference DS124 .M386 2003 +)

Medieval Scandanavia: An Encyclopedia. (print at Kroch Rare and Manuscripts Reference and Olin Reference DL30 .M48+).

Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia. (print at Olin Library Reference HQ1143 .W643 2004)

Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia (print at Olin Library Reference HQ1147.E85 W66 2006+)

Medieval Archaeology: an Encyclopedia. (print at Olin Reference D125.M42x 2001+)

Medieval folklore : a guide to myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs. (print at Olin Library Reference GR35 .M43 2002)

Motif-index of folk literature (online).  Also known as Stith Thompson.  Very difficult to work with online.  Try the print volumes instead at Olin Library Reference GR67 .T47 1955+)

Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000: encyclopedia of the Barbarian world.  (Olin Library Reference D62 .A52x 2004+)

Encyclopedia of barbarian Europe: society in transformation. (Olin Library Reference D135 .F73x 2003+)

The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England. 2nd ed. (Olin Reference DA 152 B58x 2014) 

General

Flicker photo by teachernz

Superior to Wikipedia on

most topics & disciplines:

Literature Resource Center 

Gale virtual reference library 

Sage Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online