Skip to main content

CLASS 1515: Great Roman Inventions (Fall 2017): Encyclopedias

A guide to library research

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Cambridge Histories

Dictionary

Specialized Encyclopedias

Specialized Antiquity Encyclopedias

Oxford Handbook of Engineering and Technology in the Classical World Highly recommended.

The Oxford classical dictionary. A classic on the Classical world. It goes far beyond a dictionary.

Oxford bibliographies: Classics Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies. 

A companion to science, technology, and medicine in ancient Greece and Rome

 

History of Science & Technology Encyclopedias

Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy 

The Routledge companion to philosophy of science (Uris Library Q175 .R68 2008)

AccessScience from McGraw Hill

The encyclopedia of ancient natural scientists: the Greek tradition and its many heirs. (2nd ed., 2012) Covers all Greek and Latin natural science, from its beginnings with Thales through the end of the Late Antiquity with Isidore of Seville and Paulos of Aigina. Almost 1600 entries - 244 of those describing figures that are not mentioned in any other reference work. (Olin Reference Q124.95 .E53 2012)

Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures (Olin Library Oversize Q124.8 .E53x 1997 +)

Encyclopedia of the history of Arabic science (2000)

Historical encyclopedia of natural and mathematical sciences (2009)

General

Flicker photo by teachernz

Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:

 

Gale virtual reference library 

Sage Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online