Skip to main content

ENGL 1183.101: Word and Image (Spring 2018): Find
the Basics

A library research guide for Krithika Vachali's English 1183 class

Reference Collections

Because Rand Hall is being renovated, the Fine Arts Library print reference collection is presently located in B56 East Sibley Hall. In Olin Library, the print reference collection is located on the first floor.

Examples of resources in print and online include: bibliographies, directories, dictionaries (of symbols, terms, techniques, etc.), a few catalogues raisonnés, subject encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, manuals...

Subject Encyclopedias are great for: choosing a topic, educating yourself quickly, perspective on a topic, variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology, bibliographies of critical sources.

Art Reference Sources

How to Read Citations

Learning how to interpret citations you find in scholarly books and articles is a critical research skill and essential to efficiently finding the material you need for your assignments. Watch this video to learn how.

Reference Sources for Literature and History

You can do better than Wikipedia. Use authoritative dictionaries and reference sources.


English Language

Oxford English Dictionary.
The OED presents the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and slang. Second edition available in print in Olin Reference PE1625 M98 1989

Literary Terminology

Abrams, M.H. A Glossary of Literary Terms. 11th ed. Wadsworth Cengage Learning, c2015. Olin Reference PN41 A184 2015
"For clarity, concision and elegance Abrams has few peers and no superiors; plain spoken but not simplistic, his essays on critical methods are the best short treatments in the business." (Choice)
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography. Paper edition (2005) in Olin Reference: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005 +
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Includes "coverage of traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history, as well as updated and extended advice on recommended further reading and a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms. New to this fully revised edition are recommended entry-level web links."

Culture & History

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism. (Also in print at Olin Reference CB9 N49 2005+)

Literature

Gale Literary Sources
A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).  Includes material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature. Oxford University Press, c2006. 5 vols. Print copy in Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006
"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars include biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." (publisher) Table of contents
Oxford Bibliographies.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area (including American and British literature). Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.