Skip to main content

PMA 1139: Broad Comedy: Funny Women and their Fans (Fall 2017): Find Background
Material

A library research guide for Seth Soulstein's PMA 1139 class.

Film and Television Reference Sources

Olin Reference Collection

Olin Library Reference Collection Subject encyclopedias are great for:
  1. choosing a topic
  2. educating yourself quickly
  3. perspective on a topic
  4. variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  5. bibliography

Feminism and Gender Reference Sources

See the Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies subject guide for more reference sources.

Multi-disciplinary Refererence sources

Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
Reference Universe
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 6,000 reference titles.
Sage Reference Online
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging, anthropology, business, communication, media studies, criminology, economics, education, environment, gender & sexuality studies, geography, history, politics, psychology, research methods, science, philosophy, sociology, and urban studies.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.

Television Schedules