Skip to main content

WRIT 1370: Writing Back to the News (Fall 2018): Finding Media
Articles--Local

Course Guide for Kelly King O-Brien's class

Local News Coverage

Cornell Chronicle
Online indexing and full text:   1996 to date, available from the Cornell Chronicle home page. Use the search box at the upper right to find older articles.
Microfilm access:  1969 - 2009/2010:  Olin Film 3126

Cornell Daily Sun
Online indexing and full text: 1880-2000: Partial coverage provided through an ongoing digitization project by the Cornell University Library and Cornell Daily Sun. Go to the project web site to see the years available.

08/20/2006 to date: Access World News. Selected articles back to 2000.
Microfilm access: 1880 - October 1943, October 1946 - 11/09/1959: Library Annex Film 1106. 11/10/1959 to date:  Olin Film 1106

Ithaca Journal
Previous titles: See titles listed below plus the Ithaca Journal-News (1919 - 1933)

Online indexing and full text:
08/09/1999 to date
Available in the Newspapers section of ProQuest (08/09/1999 to date).
Also see the Ithaca Journal & General Advertiser (1827 to 1847), the Ithaca Journal and Advertiser (1847 to 1866) and the parallel title, the Ithaca Daily Journal (1872 to 1900) in NYS Historic Newspapers. Check the title list in NYS Historic Newspapers for the available coverage of early Ithaca newspapers.

Microfilm access:  1872 to date: Olin Film 882; 1848 to 1872: Film 6045 (Ithaca Journal and Advertiser)

Ithaca Times
Previous title: Ithaca New Times (1972 - 1978)

Online indexing and full text: 2005 to date. Ithaca Times Advanced Search
Microfilm access: 1972 to date: Olin Film 4383

The Cornell Review
"Conservative, contrarian, anti-establishment."
Online searching and full text:
2009? to date: Use the Search box in the right-hand column of the home page.

Ithaca Voice
Online indexing and full text: June 2014 to date. Searchable and browseable from the home page.

 

Web Accessibility Assistance