Skip to main content

ROMS 1109-102: Non/Human: Figures in Visual Culture (FWS Fall 2018): Background
Info

This is a guide for LIa Turtas' FWS, a section of Image and Imagination.

General reference sources

Encyclopedia Britannica  Online. Now includes rich supplementary material (maps, data, news, articles, website links and more).


Gale Virtual Reference Library  Online. Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Sage Reference Online  Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Oxford Reference Online  Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions. *


Literature Resource Center (LRC)  Online. Criticism and theory, biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). *

Background on theories and theorists - Reference sources

Film encyclopedias and dictionaries (selected)

Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. Print. Olin Reference PN1993.45 C75x 2001+   Explains major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from long overview essays which summarize the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures. (jacket copy)

One example from Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies:  "Animals in film and media" by Jennifer Peterson (2013; reviewed 2017); "Ecocinema" by Kiu-wai Chu (

Web Accessibility Assistance