Skip to main content

HIST 1321: Post-World War II America--A Research Guide (Fall 2018): Find
Articles

Course guide for Kelly King-O'Brien's class

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles & Full Text search).

Article Databases

America: History & Life. 1954- .
Access to citations and abstracts to journal articles and books about U.S. and Canadian history. Provides citations from 1954 to the present, with some links to the full text of journal articles.
In the absence of a direct article link, use our catalog to look up the journal titles and books in your search results.

 

Databases for searching broadly, across disciplines and source types:

Academic Search Premier. EBSCO.
A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 journals and includes full text from over 3,170 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

ProQuest Research Library.
Searches thousands of general interest magazines and scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected newspapers, television and radio programs. We subscribe to most of the periodicals indexed. Many articles are available full-text from the article citation page. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1892-1980.
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States for the time period.
Use our Catalog to look up the magazines indexed here.
Also available in the more browseable print format, Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature: Olin Reference AI 3 .R28 (covers 1901 through 2011 in annual volumes).

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon].
A vast index to online articles and eBooks. Links to full text in most cases.

Web Accessibility Assistance