Skip to main content

ARTH 1161: FWS: Seeing in Miniature: Indian Painting (Fall 2017): Image Databases

Library Research Guide to Accompany Natalia De Pietrantonio's FWS Course

Cornell's Rāgamālā Collection

RagamalaKakubha

Kakubha. ca. 1615-1800. Watercolor from the Ragamala Paintings (photographs by Klaus Ebeling of images in museums and private collections on Ragamala Painting all over the world, digitized and collected by the Cornell University Library). See also Klaus Ebeling's book about the Ragamala: Rāgamālā Painting (1973).

ARTstor

The ARTstor Digital Library

Help in using ARTstor

You can only download if you register for an account, which you'll need to do on campus. After you have an account, you can login from anywhere. Watch the video on the right for complete instructions.

 

Not a database, but...

a very interesting source of material!

Going Global in Mughal India. Digital muraqqa (album) project by Sumathi Ramaswamy, professor of history and international comparative studies at Duke University, documenting cartographic practices in the Indian subcontinent.

Great bibliography under "References"

Visual Resources Librarian

Marsha Taichman's picture
Marsha Taichman
Contact:
B56 East Sibley
Fine Arts Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 255-6718
met228@cornell.edu
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Architecture, Art

Databases & Collections

The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of images you can download and add to your papers and other projects. You need to keep in mind that some of them have licensing restricts that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the links and information on this page to get more information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.

Get help with digital images

Johnson Museum Online

Register to download

This tutorial guides users through the process of registering for an ARTstor user account.

Exporting ARTstor images to PowerPoint