Skip to main content

Using the Law Library 101: Research Help

Reference Assistance

Reference Hours:

Academic Year

Monday - Friday: 9 am-5 pm

Sunday: 12 noon-5 pm

Summer Hours

Monday - Friday: 9 am-5 pm

 

How to reach the Reference Librarian On-Call

Circulation Desk: Stop by the circulation desk to request the reference librarian on-call.  You will be directed to the reference desk where a reference librarian will join you shortly.

Phone: The hours are the same as the reference desk hours. Give us a call at 607-255-9577.

Email: Email any reference questions to lawlib@cornell.edu and our reference librarians will get back to you as soon as possible.

Chat Reference: Have you tried our live chat? You can talk to a reference librarian online and get reference assistance virtually! 

In-person Consultation: Students with more in-depth research questions can set up individual reference consultations with our librarians. To request a consultation, complete this web form. In the request form, you may include a brief description of your question and which librarian you prefer to talk to.

 

Apps

Did you know that there are many Apps that you can use on your mobile devices to facilitate your studies at the law school? Here below is a list of the most commonly used apps.

Blackboard Mobile Learn™ makes it easier for you to keep up with your courses by letting you access them whenever and wherever you want. It is available for iOS devices and Android devices.

Edited by a team of lawyers with expertise in all the vital areas of the law, Nolo’s Plain-English Law Dictionary contains nearly 4,000 legal terms defined in everyday, understandable language. It is available for iOS devices.

You can use this app to access familiar Westlaw features including WestSearch™, KeyCite™, Folders, History, and Document Notes and Highlighting.  You can also browse databases, content and more. It is available for iOS devices and Android devices.

You can use this app to access most features that are offered on the Lexis Advance website on your mobile devices. It is available for iOS devices and Android devices.

You can use this app to view image-based PDFs, access content by citation, browse by volume, navigate a volume with an electronic table of contents, and use full advanced searching techniques. It is available for iOS devices.

 

Image result for bloomberg law app iconYou can use this app to access legal documents and news articles in your Queue, even when you are offline.

 

 

Databases

We have many legal databases that will help you with legal research. You can access the most commonly used legal databases from the law library homepage.

You can find a complete list of all the online legal databases in the research guide Online Legal Resources. Some of the databases have restricted access. Please be aware of the symbol key which indicates the restriction of access to each database.

Cornell University Library has many databases that cover other disciplines. You can search by name or broad subject terms. 

General Interest and Reference

Arts and Humanities

 

Legal Information Institute (LII)

Maintained by Cornell Law School, LII has extensive online legal collections that are open to all. You can find federal law, U.S. Code, federal rules, uniform laws, and international law. On this website, you can also find WEX, which is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by LII. The LII Supreme Court Bulletin keeps you updated with all pending Supreme Court cases, and alerts you to new decisions as soon as they are available.

To learn about other sources of free legal information or to post a question about the LII website, you can contact their Reference Desk.