Skip to main content

ENGL 1147.102: The Mystery in the Story (Spring 2017): Find Background

A library Research Guide for Maddie Reynolds' English 1147 class.

Mystery Reference Sources

American Mystery and Detective Novels: A Reference Guide. Larry Landrum, Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.  Print copy: Olin Library stacks PS374 D4 L34x 1999
A guide to research on American mystery and detective novels emphasizing the historical development of the genre and major critical approaches to the literature. Comparisons with related genres, such as gothic, suspense, gangster, and postmodern novels, illustrate similarities and differences important to the understanding of the unique components of mystery and detective fiction.
Encyclopedia Mysteriosa: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Detection in Print, Film, Radio, and Television. William L. DeAndrea. New York : Prentice Hall General Reference, c1994. Olin Library Reference PN3448.D4 D28
Arranged A to Z, covers various aspects of the mystery in film, television and fiction. Contains some longer essays on special topics such as mystery magazines, dime novels, Sherlockiana. Illustrated, with a glossary.
Mystery and Suspense Writers: The Literature of Crime, Detection, and Espionage. Robin W. Winks, editor in chief. New York: Charles Scribner's, 1998. Uris Library Reference (Dean Room, South wall) PR830.D4 M97x 1998
Articles in this 2-volume set are ideal bio-critical introductions. They include a look at the author's background and a genuine critical analysis of the major novels and stories. The essays provide substantial treatments of major mystery authors and of such subgenres as the police procedural, the spy novel, and the whodunit.
Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing, editor in chief, Rosemary Herbert. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.  Olin Library Reference PN3448.D4 O94x 1999
Alphabetically arranged compendium of signed articles on themes, terms, concepts, genres, character types and writers integral to the mystery. A selected bibliography is appended to most entries. Includes a glossary and an index.
St. James Guide to Crime and Mystery Writers. Detroit : St. James Press, c1996. Olin Library Reference PR888 D4 T97
Entries on 650 of the most influential and in-demand English-language writers of the crime and mystery genre. Included are author biographies, complete bibliographies, lists of critical studies, the writer's own comments on his or her work (when available), and an essay written by an expert of the genre.

Multi-disciplinary Refererence sources

Oxford Reference Online
Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
Reference Universe
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 6,000 reference titles.
Sage Reference Online
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.
Scholarly, thoroughly documented articles cover a wide range of subjects across the disciplines of psychology, sociology, anthropology and other social sciences.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
SIgned articles cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance). (publisher)

Film Reference Sources

Reference Sources for Language & Literature

Use authoritative dictionaries and reference sources.

Wikipedia might be a handy tool in some cases, but it's not what your professors would call a reliable or authoritative reference source. The library resources listed below provide access to scholarly information on a range of subjects. See the Library subject guides to find many more.

Abrams, M.H. A Glossary of Literary Terms. 11th ed. Boston : Wadsworth Cengage Learning, c2015. Olin Reference PN41 A184 2015
"For clarity, concision and elegance Abrams has few peers and no superiors; plain spoken but not simplistic, his essays on critical methods are the best short treatments in the business." (Choice)
Oxford English Dictionary.
The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and slang. Second edition available in print in Olin Reference PE1625 M98 1989
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Includes "coverage of traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history, as well as updated and extended advice on recommended further reading and a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms. New to this fully revised edition are recommended entry-level web links."
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography. Paper edition (2005) in Olin Reference: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005 +.
Literature Resource Center
A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).  Includes material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, a printed set located in Uris Library Reference PS 129 D55 (Dean Room, south wall)
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006. 5 vols. Print: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006+
Covers the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). It includes substantial accounts of individual authors (e.g., Spenser, Pope, Austen) and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions. (publisher)
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature. New York : Oxford University Press, 2004. 4 vols. Olin Reference PS21 E537 2004 +
Gathers together 350 essays from over 190 leading scholars on the whole of American literature, from European discovery to the present. At the core of the Encyclopedia lie 250 essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, Faulkner, Frost, and Morrison are discussed in detail with each examined in the context of his or her times, an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer. Each entry has its own primary and annotated secondary bibliography. [publisher's description]