Skip to main content

STS 1123: Beyond Big Brother (Spring 2017): FINDING

A research guide for Brian Clarke's First-Year Writing Seminar.

Library-funded Online News Databases

These online databases provide searchable access to online news sources. Includes individual newspapers, news publishers, television news video, and radio transcripts.

Each entry contains the following information: database title; database URL; whether the library has a subscription (available to Cornell users only); and a brief description including the time period covered, the format of the content, and languages (no entry = English)..

Access World News.
[]; subscription.
(called America's Newspapers before 2005.) Coverage from roughly the mid-1980s on. Most sources are current. Over 2,700 newspapers and newswires, including some web-only titles. Also video from local television news programs. Some international coverage, but mainly Anglo-American titles. Includes many smaller newspapers in the U.S. Plain text and video. English and Spanish (Acceda Noticias)..

[]; subscription.
Primarily business news. Plain text. English. Factiva Newsstand shows the articles in several major papers for the last 2 weeks.

LexisNexis Academic.
[]; subscription.
Includes television and radio. Coverage: roughly 1980 to date. Western European languages. Plain text.

Library PressDisplay. ProQuest.
[]; subscription.
Full-color pdfs. Coverage: current 60 days. All languages..

Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University.
[]; subscription.
More than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline (since 1989). Coverage: 1968 to date. Includes commercials, searchable by brand name. Streaming video, transcripts. English.


The full version of this page is here.

Did You Know that...

You have access to these paywalled news sources.

Financial Times/ is the Financial Times’ name for their online version. It requires a free signup for the pay-walled version. Use the link from this catalog record: All Cornell has access via our Library subscription. The default version is the “International Edition.” The UK Edition is also available online.

New York Times/
The Student Assembly has purchased access for all Cornell undergraduates only. All undergraduate students have received an e-mail with login instructions. Instructions are also here as a PDF: New York Times -- digital access for undergraduates. Other users are limited to 10 articles per month without a personal digital subscription.

Washington Post/
Anyone with a .edu, .gov, or .mil e-mail address can get free, unlimited access to all content, including the blogs. Instructions for signing up using a .edu email address can be found here:

World Politics Review:
Continuously updated. Articles provide context to the key trends and events in international affairs. Published entirely online, WPR's original analysis is written by a network of leading analysts, journalists and scholars. Nonpartisan, nonideological articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.