Skip to main content

STS 1123: Beyond Big Brother (Spring 2017): FINDING
SCHOLARLY ARTICLES

A research guide for Brian Clarke's First-Year Writing Seminar.

Finding Articles

Databases for Communications, History, and Sociology

America: History and Life
An extensive online index to articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers journal articles published since 1954.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Complete coverage of more than 550 journals in communications and mass media with links to the article full text for over 440 journals.

SocINDEX with full text/Sociology Source Ultimate
SocINDEX has been expanded into a database called Sociology Source Ultimate which includes greater coverage of peer-reviewed journals, international resources and open access titles. Includes coverage of social history; immigration; ethnic, racial and gender studies; political sociology; social psychology; social structure; and socio-cultural anthropology. Indexes the complete run of the journal Surveillance and Society, November 2002 to date.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides citations from 1963 to the present, and abstracts since 1974, to journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Indexes Surveillance and Society since 2010.

 

General Article Databases

ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database, a great starting point for research on all topics. Nearly 5,000 journals and magazines. Select "Peer reviewed" to limit to the scholarly literature.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Similar to ProQuest Research Library, Academic Search Premier provides 8,500 full-text journals and magazines, a slightly different mix of sources to search, and a different search interface than Research Library. Select Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit to the scholarly literature.

Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar to find scholarly books and articles across all topics and disciplines. The powerful "Cited by" link allows you to find more recent sources that cite a book or article, moving forward in time in the web of citations. Links to the full text of articles are often available as well.

Articles & Full Text [aka Summon]
Covers 19th century to date. This is our meta-database that searches across many individual databases.
Click on the "Articles & Full Text" link on the Cornell Library home page, enter your search terms, then click Search.

 

Searchable Full-Text Scholarly Journal Collections

JSTOR
Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding articles from the last 2 to 5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO

Web Accessibility Assistance