Skip to main content

ARKEO 2688: Cleopatra's Egypt (Spring 2017): Articles

A guide to research

Classics Citation Abbreviations

In Classics scholarship,  titles of journals as well as Classical texts are often highly abbreviated.

A list of commonly used journal title abbreviations:
http://projects.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tdata/revues.txt

A list of common abbreviations for Classical authors and their texts:
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/abbrevhelp


The American Journal of Archaeology's guide to abbreviations:
http://www.ajaonline.org/submissions/abbreviations

 

 

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title). Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Cat to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)

Essentials

BEST BETS

APh (L'Annee Philologique) THE database of articles and books for Classical Antiquity. However, not as up to date as it could be.

Academic Search Premier  Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text. More up to date than APh.

 

Other recommendations

JStor  Completely full text. Excludes 3-5 years most recent articles. JStor journals are included in the databases above with abstracts.

Project Muse  Completely full text. Often complements JStor with 3-5 most recent years.

Nestor focuses on Aegean ( including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey) studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, etc. Will work for articles and books on Persia.

Projekt Dyabola Can be difficult to use, but can also yield excellent archaeologically-focused scholarship. Paricularly good for topography. No full text within the database.

 

 

Research Library Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.

Humanities international index  Nicely complements APh with up-to-date content. Some full text.

Summon/Search for articles

It's possible to search a number of databases at one time using Summon, or go into individual databases for your searches, but it's not recommended for humanities research (though occasionally, depending on your topic, you may discover some interesting materials).

Summon / Search for Articles

Summon (Articles & Full Text) searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print books and other physical items).

Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, Summon doesn't search all library resources. Use subject-specific databases (link to the right of Articles & Full Text) for comprehensive or focused searching.

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.

Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.