Skip to main content

NES 4525, JWST 4525 Palestinians in Israel (Spring 2017): Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

The Steps

Find a database by browsing the list here or under Database Names subjects

Click on the link to get into the database

Search the database for articles

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available full text!

 
If an article isn't available full text through a database...

Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title)

Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need

If you cannot locate the article, ask a Librarian!

 

 

If there is no Get it! Cornell link/button, take the title of the journal NOT the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.

Book Reviews

Bustan: The Middle East Book Review contains article-length review essays and traditional book reviews. Articles will deal with a host of topics related to the Middle East and Islamic Studies. Subjects include (but are not limited to) political science, economics, history, language, geography and cultural issues of the region. Articles review works in a multitude of languages; however, articles are exclusively written in English.

Essentials

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.

Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.

Web Accessibility Assistance