Skip to main content

NES 4525, JWST 4525 Palestinians in Israel (Spring 2017): Encyclopedias

A guide to library research

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories Online

Excellent resource. Full text. Chapters as pdfs. Extremely high quality essays with rich footnotes and bibliography.

Dictionary

Encyclopedias

Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish Studies
Excellent peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies.

Oxford bibliographies. Islamic studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. 

Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews
Includes such titles as: The Oxford handbook of Islam and politics [2013] The Oxford handbook of the history of nationalism 2013  The Oxford handbook of Iranian history c2012

 

Encyclopaedia Judaica
A classic and excellent resource on all aspects of Jewish culture and Israel.

Encyclopaedia Islamica
Challenging to use! Projected to be a 16-volume publication focused on Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. (New content will be added every year in alphabetical order. IN PROGRESS. Expected completion in 2023.
 
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online
Challenging to use! Aims to be a comprehensive reference work in English on all aspects of Islam written by leading scholars. Includes new entries from the 3rd edition (Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE).
 

General

Flicker photo by teachernz

Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:

 

Gale virtual reference library 

Sage Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online