Skip to main content

ARTH 1160: FWS: Dangerous Women (Spring 2017): Kroch Library

Library guide to accompany Hannah Ryan's spring 2017 course

Division of Rare & Manuscript Collections

Housed on the lowest level of Kroch Library, the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections is open for research Monday-Friday, 10:30am-4:30pm, and on some Saturday afternoons. Please consult their web site for specific hours. This is Cornell's largest collection of archival and rare book materials. While books are listed in the library catalog, archival collections are described at the collection (rather than at the item) level, and many have further details on collection contents and arrangement listed on finding guides. Notable collections are described here.

Researchers must register to use the Rare collections. To register: Fill out this online form, then bring a photo ID to the RMC Reference Desk when you come in to do your research.

Witchcraft Collection

Philtre d’amour. Chromolithograph. From: Austin De Croze. Calendrier Magique. Paris : L’Art Nouveau, 1895. via The Fantastic site.

Thanks to Andrew Dickson White, Cornell holds one of the finest collections of rare books and manuscripts on the subject of witchcraft. You will have the opportunity to see highlights in person, but you can also research some of them online:

Description of the Cornell Witchcraft Collection

Online access to highlights from the Witchcraft Collection is by title, through the catalog, or here:

Digital Witchcraft Collection

The Malleus Maleficarum is one of the most significant works of witchcraft literature. Read it online (digitized from Cornell's copy of the Nicholas Basseus edition, Frankfurt, 1580).

Some of the images from the witchcraft and history of science collections can be found online in the Fantastic in Art and Fiction database (sample image at right).

 

Cameras in the Archives

Victorian Spy Camera Watch, by Brett Jordan. Source: Flickr.

Archival material cannot typically be checked out or interlibrary loaned, and usually not photocopied or scanned (except by a staff member, and for a fee). However, many archival institutions will allow you to take photos of pages.

Tips for using a camera in the archives