Or THE PREFERRED METHOD
2) Be more focused by searching individual databases
Periodical indexes (in databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.
Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles.
If the database does not provide full-text, but does give you a citation, click on the Get it! Cornell link to see if there is full text access through another database. If that doesn't work, take down the full article ciation. Then, go back to the catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.
For more precise searching, search databases individually
If your topic is a contemporary artist or an art movement for which you're not finding much information in the academic sources, then you might need to look for information in historic news sources. First, try art news sources, such as:
Art index retrospective Art Index Retrospective (which is an academic source!) provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism of nearly 600 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984.
Then, try broader news sources, such as:
ProQuest Historical News collection, which includes the historical NY Times, NY/Herald Tribune, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, etc.
Take a look at the historical news guides for more ideas:
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals. Most of the articles are at least five years old. Since it is searching the full text, be sure to use the Advanced Search function to narrow down results as much as possible. It is not uncommon to get search results of many thousands of hits in JSTOR.
Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities. Covers recent issues of many journals that may not appear in JSTOR.
General Periodical Indexes
Academic Search Premier Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Proquest Research Library Indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.