Skip to main content

BME 1130: Dimensions of Cancer (Spring 2017): Find Journal and
Magazine Articles

Research Guide for Peter DelNero's First-Year Writing class.

Recommended Databases

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

BIOSIS Previews
Covers original research articles and literature reviews in the biological and biomedical fields.

PubMed
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

SOCIAL/BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES

PsycINFO
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship and research in psychology and related fields.

Sociology Source Ultimate
Comprehensive coverage for articles encompassing sub-disciplines and related areas of the social sciences, including labor, crime, demography, economic sociology, immigration, ethnic, racial and gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, social history, theory, methodology, and more.

INTERDISCIPLINARY

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 8,500 magazines and journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles.

Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar to find scholarly books and articles across all topics and disciplines. The powerful "Cited by" link allows you to find more recent sources that cite a book or article, moving forward in time in the web of citations. Links to the full text of articles are often available as well.

Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present, and Book Citation Index from 2005 to present.

Tips for Finding Articles

Use online databases to find articles in journals, newspapers, and magazines (periodicals). You can search for periodical articles by the article author, title, or keyword by using databases in your subject area in Databases.

Choose the database best suited to your particular topic--see details in the box below.

Ask at the reference desk if you need help figuring out which ones are best.

If the article full text is not linked from the citation in the database you are using, search for the title of the periodical in our Catalog. This catalog lists the print, microform, and electronic versions of journals, magazines, and newspapers available in the library.

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Journals, magazines, and newspapers are important sources for up-to-date information in all disciplines. With a collection as large and diverse as Cornell's it is often difficult to distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in the collection. In this guide we have divided the criteria for evaluating periodical literature into four categories:

About Individual Titles: Magazines for Libraries

EVALUATING INDIVIDUAL PERIODICAL TITLES

There are reference books which describe and evaluate periodicals. For evaluations of specific periodicals, use

Magazines for Libraries. Cheryl LaGuardia, editor. 25th ed. New York: Bowker, 2017.
(Olin Reference Z 6941 .K21 +; shelved behind the Olin reference desk)
An annotated listing by subject of over 6,000 periodicals. Each entry gives name of periodical, beginning publication date, publisher, editor, address, price and such information as indexing, size, and level of audience. Short abstracts describe the scope, political slant, and other aspects of the publication. Arrangement is topical, bringing magazines and journals on like subjects together. To find an individual title, use the title index at the end of the volume.

Or ask for assistance at the reference desk.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO