Skip to main content

BME 1130: Dimensions of Cancer (Spring 2017): Find
Books

Research Guide for Peter DelNero's First-Year Writing class.

Resources for Finding Books in Libraries

Use the Cornell Library Catalog to find the locations and call numbers of millions of Cornell books (as well as lots of video, audio, microform, map, serial, and rare titles).

Library of Congress Call Numbers

We use Library of Congress call numbers to shelve our books and bound periodicals. For a brief introduction, ask at reference for our Library of Congress Classification handout or see this web site: Library of Congress Classification Outline.

To find books outside Cornell, use BorrowDirect or OCLC WorldCat.

BorrowDirect is the combined online catalogs of the eight Ivy libraries plus MIT, Chicago, and Johns Hopkins. Bonus: you can order the book you want directly from BorrowDirect (provided it is not available to borrow at Cornell). Your book will be delivered to the library you choose at Cornell in four business days or less. Check at a reference desk for further information and assistance.

OCLC WorldCat is the combined online catalogs of tens of thousands of libraries around the world. You can request books in WorldCat that are not available through either Cornell or BorrowDirect by using our free interlibrary loan service.

How to Exploit Bibliographies at the End of Books and Articles

 TIP: EXPLOIT BIBLIOGRAPHIES

  • Read the background information and note any useful sources (books, journals, magazines, etc.) listed in the bibliography at the end of the encyclopedia article or dictionary entry. The sources cited in the bibliography are good starting points for further research.

  • Look up these sources in our catalogs and periodical databases. Check the subject headings listed in the subject field of the online record for these books and articles. Then do subject searches using those subject headings to locate additional titles.

  • Remember that many of the books and articles you find will themselves have bibliographies. Check these bibliographies for additional useful resources for your research.

By using this technique of routinely following up on sources cited in bibliographies, you can generate a surprisingly large number of books and articles on your topic in a relatively short time.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO