Skip to main content

BME 1130: Dimensions of Cancer (Spring 2017): Find the Context:
Use Reference Sources

Research Guide for Peter DelNero's First-Year Writing class.

Using Encyclopedia Articles and Dictionaries to Understand a Topic

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION AND CONTEXT FOR YOUR TOPIC

After you identify your research topic and some keywords that describe it, find and read articles in subject reference encyclopedias and dictionaries. These articles will help you understand the context (historical, cultural, disciplinary) of your topic. They are the foundation supporting further research.

 


USEFUL ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIA AND DICTIONARY TITLES FOR THIS CLASS

AccessScience from McGraw-Hill.
(Online only)
Full access to over 8,500 articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, 15,000 illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography®, the latest news in science and technology from Science News® and ScienCentral® videos, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.

 

The Cambridge World History of Human Disease.
New York: Cambridge University Press, 1993.
(Online version; print version: Olin Reference R 131 .C17 1993)
Divided in eight parts which deal with the history and development of medical thought, concepts of disease, geographical differences, inheritance, and articles on specific diseases from a historical perspective. Part of the Cambridge Histories Online collection of titles.

 

Concise Medical Dictionary. 9th edition.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2015.
(Online only)
Covers all aspects of medical science and terminology. Written by a team of medical experts, it has been fully revised and updated for this new edition. Accessible entries are complemented by over 150 illustrations. The 9th edition includes over 450 new entries.

 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. 2nd edition. 26 print volumes. New York: Elsevier, 2015.
(Online version; print version: Olin Ref H 41 .I58 2015 +)
Online version updated regularly. The second edition contains more than 3,900 signed articles by 4,000 scholars. Each article ends with a substantial bibliography of additional resources.

 


FIND ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES BY SUBJECT
 

Use our Online Encyclopedias guide to locate reliable articles on your topic.

Browse the Dictionaries and Encyclopedias section of Databases

Use the Advanced search in our Catalog. Enter (encyclopedia dictionary) all in Title AND your topic in All Fields

 

Ask a reference librarian to suggest appropriate titles.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO

Web Accessibility Assistance