Skip to main content

PMA 3746: The Modernist Stage (Spring 2017): Primary
Sources

A library research guide for students in Prof. Gainor's PMA/COML 3746 class.

Primary Sources

The Library provides networked access to many more full-text, primary source databases than can be listed here. Others may be located through the Library Catalog and Databases, which contains an alphabetical list of online resources related to Linguistics, Language and Literature. NOTE: Also check the Find Articles tab (above) for resources covering periodical articles from the 19th century and earlier.


Bernard F. Burgunder Collection of George Bernard Shaw, [ca. 1810]-1990. Finding Aid to the Collection.
The Bernard F. Burgunder Collection is one of the largest collections of Shaw manuscripts and books in the world. It contains approximately 3000 books and several thousand manuscripts and letters, by or about Shaw. The Collection covers all aspects of Shaw's life and work with particular strength in the area of theatre. Kroch Rare Collection Number: 4617
British Periodicals
A fully searchable database that provides the full text of periodical articles published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1930s. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences, literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Global Performing Arts Database (GLOPAD) Ithaca, N.Y. : Global Performing Arts Consortium, Cornell University, c2003-
GloPAD     is a multimedia, multilingual, Web-accessible database containing digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects (such as 3-D images) related to the performing arts around the world. All GloPAD records include authoritative, detailed descriptions of the digital objects, in addition to information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.
Literature Online
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present; American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present; English drama; English prose; full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely studied authors. Individual collections include American Drama (1714-1915) and English Drama (1280-1915).
Playbill Vault
A searchable, online archive of Playbill, including covers plus information on plays, theaters, awards, and other content included in the magazine back to 1930.
Theatre Archive Project
The project aims to reinvestigate British theatre history 1945-1968, from the perspectives of both the theatregoer and the practitioner. The audio archive contains interviews with those visiting or working in the theatre in the period 1945-1968. Actors interviewed include Linda Bellingham, Bernard Hepton, Glenda Jackson, Murray Melvin, Joan Plowright, Corin Redgrave and Dudley Sutton. Writers include Trevor Griffiths, Peter Nichols, Ann Jellicoe, Ann Piper and Arnold Wesker. In addition there are interviews with theatre managers, producers, directors and designers, plus many interviews with ordinary theatregoers. The interviews with theatre professionals reveal their first encounters with the theatre, aspects of their work practices and the process of becoming a professional in what were often difficult circumstances. The interviews with theatregoers provide a contextualization of the productions and their reception by the communities at the time and in retrospect.
Theatre in Video
Contains performances of the world’s leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2006
Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900.
The vast majority of articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously, or under pseudonyms. The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry.

Rare Books & Mss.


The Library's Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections (RMC) includes 400,000 printed volumes, more than 70 million manuscripts, and another million photographs, paintings, prints, and other visual media. A number of collections contain material related to the history of literature and theatre in England and the U.S.

.



Web Accessibility Assistance