Skip to main content

ARTH 4155/6155 Art and Politics in Latin America: From Revolution to Dissimulation (Spring 2017): Context & Terms

Library Guide

Oxford Art

Oxford art online

Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships and a digital image search.

Latin American Historical Dictionaries

This series is housed at the annex or in the Olin stacks, so you can check any of these out:

Recommended Sources at Olin & Online

Oxford Bibliographies

Bibliographies on many, many topics (a few pertinent individual titles listed below). Provides introductions to each topic area, and includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. 

Help from Oxford: Anatomy of an Article

Bibliographies available at Cornell :

African Studies American Literature Anthropology Atlantic History
Art History British & Irish Literature Buddhism Chinese Studies
Biblical Studies Classics Communication Criminology
Cinema & Media Studies International Relations Islamic Studies Jewish Studies
Hinduism Latino Studies Linguistics Management
Latin American Studies Military History Music Philosophy
Medieval Studies Psychology Public Health Renaissance & Reformation
Political Science Sociology Victorian Literature  
Social Work      

Recommended Sources at the Fine Arts Library (Rand Hall)

Use these sources for broad, contextual information and for biographical summaries.
Be sure to go through the Bibliography or Recommended Resources at the end of each entry for recommended books & articles.

Casta Painting

Casta painting containing complete set of 16 casta combinations (racial classifications in Spanish colonies in the Americas). Oil on canvas, 148 cm x 104 cm (58 1/4 inches x 40 15/16 inches). 18th century. Collection: Museo Nacional del Virreinato, Tepotzotlán, Mexico. Source: Wikimedia Commons.

General context

Cambridge Histories

The Cambridge Histories Online (also in print, in the stacks) are excellent, in-depth resources. This includes 11 separate volumes on the history of Latin America.

Cambridge Histories Online

Click on the "browse" tile, then go through the list under "regional histories."

These are also available in print.

See, for instance, the article:
Bayón, Damián. "Art and architecture since c. 1920"
in vol. X (You must be logged in to read this if you are off campus)

Web Accessibility Assistance