Skip to main content

ROMS 1102: Speculative Fiction—Science Fiction & Fantasy (Spring 2017): Articles

A guide to library research

How to find articles

The Steps

  1. Find a database by browsing the list here or under Database Names subjects
  2. Click on the link to get into the database
  3. Search the database for articles

How to locate an article

Not all articles are available online!

 
If an article isn't available full text through a database...

  • Use "Get it! Cornell" link/button (an app that will appear inside databases) to track down the article. Sometimes an article exists only in print, not online.
  • If you get stuck or lost or have any problems, Ask a Librarian!

Essentials

Top Picks (far more powerful than Google or Google Scholar)

MLA International Bibliography
The premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. . Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.

 

Also useful

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database

JSTOR  Excludes 3-5 years most recent articles! ALL JSTOR journals included in America History and Life.

Project Muse  Companion to JSTOR with 3-5 most recent years. 

What is Passkey?

Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.

In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)

In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites

The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey.  You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it! 

Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)