Literature Resource Center (LRC) A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).
Published online in collaboration with Gollancz and the SF Gateway. This new version climaxes thirty-five years of work (with breaks) for the senior editors, and is much expanded from previous editions of the Encyclopedia. Subscribe to the RSS Feed to see the most recently added entries.
Specialized subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent sources for overviews and introductions to topics.
Anatomy of wonder : a critical guide to science fiction
by edited by Neil Barron
Call Number: Olin Reference Z5917.S36 A52 2004
Publication Date: 2004 (5th ed.)
A comprehensive reference source for the genre offers critical overviews of the primary literature from 1516-2004, an annotated bibliography of primary and secondary sources, and coverage of the following topics: science fiction: publishing, reviewing, readers, and libraries; general reference works; online resources; history and criticism; author studies; science fiction in film, television, and radio; science fiction illustration; science fiction magazines and fandom; teaching science fiction; research library collections of science fiction; listings: best books, awards, series, young adult books, translations, organizations. Author, title, and themes indexes. Entries include bibliographies, summaries, and critical discussions of the works.
Brave new words : the Oxford dictionary of science fiction
by edited by Jeffrey Prucher
Call Number: Olin Reference PN3433.4 .P78 2006
Publication Date: 2007
"...covers the shared language of science fiction, as well as the vocabulary of science fiction criticism and its fans...and shows exactly how science-fictional words and their associated concepts have developed over time, with full citations and bibliographic information." (Publisher)
Companion to science fiction
by edited by David Seed
Call Number: Olin stacks PN3433.5 .C73 2005 +
Publication Date: 2005
Signed scholarly essays cover important aspects in the history, genres, movements, films, international developments, and major authors (Russ, Delany, Bradbury, Dick, etc.) of SF. Bibliographies appended to each article. A Blackwell Companion.
Critical terms for science fiction and fantasy : a glossary and guide to scholarship
by Gary K. Wolfe
Call Number: Olin stacks PN3435 .W85
Publication Date: 1986
"The first literary glossary specific to the critical study of science fiction and fantasy. An introduction... provides an insightful and lengthy overview of the discipline and its historical evolution. Glossary consists of some 500 terms drawn from the writings of critics and of science fiction writers, and from the scholarly vocabulary of literature and related disciplines. Definitions vary in length from several sentences to a page or more, and are well documented from 218 scholarly resources, as well as with citations from other titles. Numerous cross-references. Indexed by the names of authors whose works are used as examples in the text." (ALA Guide to Reference)
Dictionary of science fiction places
by by Brian Stableford
Call Number: Olin stacks PN3433.4 .D53 1999+
Publication Date: 1999
A descriptive "dictionary of imaginary places [Tralfamadore, Trantor, Gethen, Schar's World] devised by writers of science fiction" [Vonnegut, Asimov, LeGuin, Banks] and derived from "the genre's classic texts."
Encyclopedia of fantasy
by edited by John Clute and John Grant
Call Number: Olin Reference PN3435 .E53x 1997 +
Publication Date: 1997
"Alphabetically arranged, entries cover genre, motif, authors, characters, and so on, beginning at the end of the 1700s. Broadly interprets fantasy to be works of fiction that deal with the impossible." (ALA Guide to Reference)
Encyclopedia of Fictional and Fantastic Languages
by Tim Conley and Stephen Cain ; foreword by Ursula K. Le Guin.
Call Number: Olin Stacks P120.I53 C66 2006+
Publication Date: 2006
examines fictional and fantastic languages in a broad range of literature, films, and television shows.
Each entry discusses the features of the invented language central to the work and relates it to the film, literary text, or television program. Entries provide suggestions for further reading, and the Encyclopedia closes with a selected bibliography.
Encyclopedia of science fiction and fantasy through 1968: a bibliographic survey of the fields of science fiction, fantasy, and weird fiction through 1968
by Compiled by Donald H. Tuck
Call Number: Olin Reference Z5917.S36 T88 1974+
Publication Date: 1974-1982
Fantasy literature : a core collection and reference guide
by Marshall B. Tyman, Kenneth J. Zahorski, and Robert H. Boyer
Call Number: Olin stacks PR830.F3 T98
Publication Date: 1979
An introductory essay maps the varieties of fantasy fiction (gothic, science fantasy, sword and sorcery, high fantasy) while an extensively annotated bibliography identifies core authors and works in the genre. Fully indexed.
Reference guide to science fiction, fantasy, and horror
by Michael Burgess, Lisa R. Bartle
Call Number: Olin Reference Z5917.S36 B87 2003
Publication Date: 2003 (2nd ed.)
"...maps the territory of reference works, covering all major (and some minor) information sources published in the field starting in the 1950s and well into 2001. Fan publications, serials, periodicals with reference value and non-genre materials of interest to science fiction researchers are reviewed in addition to such standard tools as bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, and indexes. Major online resources and printed guides to the Internet have been added on a selective basis." (Publisher)
Routledge companion to science fiction
by edited by Mark Bould ... [et al.]
Call Number: Olin stacks PN3433.5 .R69 2009+
Publication Date: 2009
A solid scholarly overview of the genre's history, theory (feminisms, race, postcolonialism, queer theory, virtuality), subgenres (, and contemporary thematic concerns (environmentalism, ethics and alterity, animal studies, etc.). Signed articles include bibliographies.