The library has subscriptions to a number of large news databases that allow you to search across high-quality US and foreign news sources. Here are just a few, below. For more databases, see News Sources.
Round-the-clock monitoring of TV, radio, press, internet and news agencies from around the world from primarily open media sources.
Ability to provide "the words as spoken" -- accurate and impartial translations of what leading figures have said Access via the Factiva database
From the Factiva home page navigation bar, open Search.
Enter BBC Monitoring for Source.
Full-text online service for international news and business information
From the Factiva home page navigation bar, open Search. Note: the home page opens to the day's news from the Wall Street Journal, among others (with a drop-down menu to dates over the past week). Use the Search link from the homepage navigation bar to search all of the sources in Factiva.
A searchable archive of articles from: Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and: Keesing's record of world events, 1987-. Provides a detailed summary of the world's political, social, and economic events.
The editors gather, rewrite and fact check reporting on events worldwide. There is usually a nine- to twelve-month lag between the present and the events they cover.
Includes access to full text current and general news, selected TV and radio news transcripts.
Use the down arrow to Search by Content Type
Connect search words and phrases with AND, e.g. Iraq AND invasion
From the Advanced Search, limit by date to narrow your search results
Scroll down to Apply selected limits to your search.
Limit your search terms to the headline and lead paragraph HLEAD(search terms)
Or by Section, e.g. Section(Editorial) AND your search terms
For specific sources, use the link across the top to Browse or Find sources. Click the "i" next to each source to determine dates covered
For best results, select the Advanced Search. Scroll down to choose Document types. and Newspaper Database, if desired.
If you wish, use the date limits on the right to restrict your results to a particular date range.