Skip to main content

LING 1100: The Death of Language (Spring 2017): Interdisciplinary
Reference Sources

Research Guide for Carol-Rose Little's First-Year Writing class.

Search across disciplines

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences.
James D. Wright, editor-in-chief. 26 volumes. New York: Elsevier, 2015- .
(Online edition is regularly updated. Print version: Olin Reference H 41 .I58 2015)
The best current subject encyclopedia embracing all disciplines in the social sciences. Includes several thousand signed articles, over 90,000 bibliographic references and 150 biographical entries.
Oxford Bibliographies Online.
2010- .
(Online: regularly updated.)
Cross-searchable peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on these topics: African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature
Oxford Reference Online.
2010- .
(Online: regularly updated.)
Cross-searchable collection of nearly 400 reference sources. Great for finding definitions of disciplinary jargon and vocabulary as well as longer background articles.